cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constant drop outs

scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Constant drop outs

Hi,
I've been a plusnet customer for sometime and am very happy with the customer service we receive. However, we seem to have constant dropouts when browsing, though the data line still seems live. This is always resolved by a reboot of the router, but can be quite irritating.
Interestingly though, this never seems to be a problem when we are watching catchup services (thankfully).
Even if there is no obvious solution, I would like to understand a bit more about the issue
Thanks
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

Hi scr8pe, welcome to the forum.
Can you first of all post your TG582n Full DSL stats also your Current Line speed (Login required) - but not your phone number and also  the BTw Performance test (DON'T REBOOT, ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test.
Do a Copy and Paste of all the results and post here (no need to grab images).
scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Re: Constant drop outs

 
I cant get into the router as I dont have any idea of the  user name or password also I cannot find the current speed test. However, I did manage to retrieve some info...
Results Image not loaded

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
16.02 Mbps

0 Mbps 21 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 16.02 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 16.57 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.54 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.54Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.
It is possible that any problem you are currently, or had previously experienced may have been caused by traffic congestion on the Internet or by the server you were accessing responding slowly.
If you continue to encounter a problem with a specific server, please contact the administrator of that server in the first instance.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

The Current Line speed isn't a test, it's a value that should match the BT IP Profile which is reported in the Member Centre (aka the Portal). The login is just the "username" bit you would have chosen when you signed up, as in me@username.plus.net. You would have also chosen the password at the same time. You would also be asked about characters in your password if you ever phoned CSC.
Logging into the router should be straight forward, the default username is  admin   all lower case and is generally presented on the login page you get when you click on the link I provided, password is the serial number which is found on the label underneath the TG582n, or the plastic card that came with it (not the wireless key btw).
scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Re: Constant drop outs

Thanks for your help..
Line speed is 21mb
router settings are
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 0:35:30
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.215 / 18.695
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 8,71 / 64,05
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,4 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 8,2 / 16,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 5,9 / 3,0
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 1
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 13
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

Hmm, your connection has only been up for 35 minutes - have you just re-booted or only just switched on? Be careful rebooting as the exchange DLM can think this is a "dropping connection" which you may already have and it'll the raise the Target SNRM which will result in a slower sync speed (and that as it happens is already below par).
Current Line Speed hasn't updated it seems, but that can be par for the course
When you get the issue, what are the lights on the 582n doing? Does the ADSL light flash or just the Internet light go red or flash. If you leave it a minute or two and do nothing, does the connection return?
If you need to "reboot" in the meantime, use the following method to do a "Graceful" disconnect -
Log in to the Modem/Router, in the Internet box, click Disconnect to drop the PPP Internet session (this is not the sync), wait about a minute and then power down the Modem/Router. After about another minute you can unplug it from the line if you want to swap anything about.
Stay offline for at least 10 minutes. When you re-connect and power up, you may need to Login to the Modem/Router and click Connect to establish a new PPP session.
Don't do this more than 5 times in an hour, then leave it for the rest of the day. This method is to help stop the Exchange DLM from thinking your sync loss was a dropped connection.
(For anyone that has a modem/router that doesn't have an interface for you to drop the PPP session, then pull the power plug and wait a minute or two before unplugging from the line).
Let's try and see what might be happening -
Do you have a Master Socket similar to the one on the left?
Do you have any extension phone sockets, and what is normally plugged in where? Do you have any extension phone leads and where are they used?
Do all your Microfilters look similar to this?
Can you hear/have you heard any crackling or other noises on the line when using the phone? Have you had any problems with incoming or outgoing calls?
scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Re: Constant drop outs

The Master socket is a ADSL socket as on the right of your picture, so I'm assuming that is probably the best connection anyway. I don't have any micro filters attached to my other socket
Your comments regarding the rebooting make sense but, that isnt a practical solution when you have four tech savvy children wishing to use the internet and telling them to wait 5 mins to re boot is a pain , let alone waiting for it to return without a reboot (which, I believe it does come back when left alone)
The lights on the router all remain green, so no clues from the router. I only know there is a problem when I run the diagnostics tool on the imac which shows the internet and server as amber, with all the others showing green
There are no problems with the incoming /outgoing calls.
Incidental, I have upgraded my account over the weekend to fibre, so this may all be put right with a visit from your engineer, but your help in allowing me to understand the problem is appreciated.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

Quote from: scr8pe
The lights on the router all remain green, so no clues from the router. I only know there is a problem when I run the diagnostics tool on the imac which shows the internet and server as amber, with all the others showing green.

Hmm. In your OP you mentioned "constant dropouts" which in light of the above I think may mean that you try to go to a web page and it fails to load - would that be right? Do you get any error message of any sort? I assume a refresh of the url does nothing.
There might be another quick fix to avoid rebooting, but one option I'm not sure about on a iMac but you may not know anyway - can you telnet on an iMac?
Quote from: scr8pe
Your comments regarding the rebooting make sense but, that isnt a practical solution when you have four tech savvy children wishing to use the internet and telling them to wait 5 mins to re boot is a pain , let alone waiting for it to return without a reboot (which, I believe it does come back when left alone)

OK understand the difficulty. Do you know roughly how long it takes to come back when left?
Quote from: scr8pe
The Master socket is a ADSL socket as on the right of your picture, so I'm assuming that is probably the best connection anyway. I don't have any micro filters attached to my other socket

Quote from: scr8pe
Incidental, I have upgraded my account over the weekend to fibre, so this may all be put right with a visit from your engineer, but your help in allowing me to understand the problem is appreciated.

Um, (not my engineer btw, as I'm a customer as well) but part of that maybe the case, it may well also depend on the engineer, if it's one of the OpenReach sub-contractors I wouldn't be so confident.
There may be two issues here, your current sync speed is below par, as mentioned at the start of reply #5, and this inability to load a web page now and again (if that's a better description).
Although your current ADSL v1.0 plate should be replaced on the Fibre install with a Mk3 SSFP (aka vDSLplate) it might be a good idea to make sure your "other socket" isn't causing any issue.
(You should also be getting another router unless you didn't chose that option for some reason).
When/if you get a quiet moment when your "tech savy" children aren't using the internet, if you could do a "Graceful" disconnect and  power off the modem/router and then remove the ADSLv1.0 plate so you can see the test socket behind. Be careful as the wires to the extension socket should be connected to the back of that plate. If you plug your phone direct into the test socket you should get dial tone. If you then plug your phone direct into the extension socket whilst the plate is still off, that extension socket should be completely dead, not a sound.
scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Re: Constant drop outs

It definitely isn't web pages failing to load as all the computers using the wifi have no connection.
I haven't a clue how long a wait is required for service to return as we have all got into the habit of rebooting the router as soon as there is an issue. So with that in mind I will be instructing them to leave it alone from now on and leave any re booting to me (Time will tell if that instruction is obeyed!!).
I wont be tackling the socket issues you suggest as both my failing eyesight and DIY skills do not allow such operations with out a loss of temper!
Fingers crossed for the fibre router to resolve this.
Thanks for your help
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

Have you not got a friend, or one of your responsible tech savy children that could help with the socket?
Does the no connection only happen over the wifi then? Does an ethernet connected computer have a connection?
scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Re: Constant drop outs

Loads of issues tonight... have managed to retrive this from the router ... am desperaratly trying to get this on before it drops again!!

Mar 4 22:05:53
LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.64)

 
Mar 4 21:57:26
FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 71.167.144.232 Dst ip: 31.185.189.14 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Host Unreacheable

 
Mar 4 21:57:15
LOGIN wireless station [e0:91:53:3f:61:83] can't get authorized.

 
Mar 4 21:36:48
FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 71.167.144.232 Dst ip: 31.185.189.14 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Host Unreacheable

 
Mar 4 21:27:51
LOGIN wireless station [f4:55:9c:bb:99:bd] can't get authorized.

 
Mar 4 21:22:47
LOGIN wireless station [e0:91:53:3f:61:83] can't get authorized.

 
Mar 4 21:12:19
FIREWALL replay check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 71.167.144.232 Dst ip: 31.185.189.14 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Host Unreacheable

 
Mar 4 20:56:20
IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 212.56.71.249 scanned at least 10 ports at 31.185.189.14. (1 of 1) : 212.56.71.249 31.185.189.14 0040 TCP 443->50901 [...R..] seq 3784761128 win 0

 
Mar 4 20:56:02
CONFIGURATION saved by TR69

 
Mar 4 20:55:48
FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules

 
Mar 4 20:55:48
PPP link up (Internet) [31.185.189.14]

 
Mar 4 20:55:47
PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok

 
Mar 4 20:55:47
PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = PCL-AG06)

 
Mar 4 20:55:47
PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red3.gi-b)

 
Mar 4 20:55:40
xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 17110 kbit/s, upstream: 807 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.9 dBm, Up: 10.1 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 16.5 dB, Up: 8.2 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.1 dB, Up: 7.3 dB)

 
Mar 4 20:55:16
PPP link down (Internet) [87.113.122.46]

 
Mar 4 20:55:14
xDSL linestate down

 
Mar 4 20:54:44
xDSL linestate down

 
Mar 4 20:54:27
FIREWALL event (1 of 1): modified rules

 
Mar 4 20:54:27
FIREWALL event (1 of 1): created rules

 
Mar 4 20:54:27
xDSL linestate down

 
Mar 4 20:54:21
CONFIGURATION saved by TR69

 
Mar 4 20:54:07
FIREWALL event (1 of 1): deleted rules

 
Mar 4 20:54:06
PPP link up (Internet) [87.113.122.46]

 
Mar 4 20:54:06
PPP CHAP Chap receive success : authentication ok

 
Mar 4 20:54:06
PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = PTW-AG04)

 
Mar 4 20:54:05
PPP CHAP Receive challenge (rhost = bras-red3.gi-b)

 
Mar 4 20:54:02
xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.5; downstream: 18843 kbit/s, upstream: 1223 kbit/s; output Power Down: 20.9 dBm, Up: 12.4 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 16.5 dB, Up: 8.3 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.1 dB, Up: 6.5 dB)

 
Mar 4 20:53:36
xDSL linestate down

 
Mar 4 20:53:28
PPP link down (Internet) [91.125.147.3]

 
Mar 4 20:53:06
xDSL linestate down

 
Mar 4 20:52:49
FIREWALL event (1 of 16): modified rules

 
Mar 4 20:52:49
FIREWALL event (1 of 26): created rules

 
Mar 4 20:52:49
xDSL linestate down

 
Mar 4 20:51:38
FIREWALL replay check (1 of 6): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 71.167.144.232 Dst ip: 91.125.147.3 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Host Unreacheable
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

I don't suppose you checked the line with your phone for noise at the time that was going on, whether you heard any crackly type noises?
You can try the Quiet Line Test 17070 option 2 at any time. If you hear any crackling type noises you should report a phone line fault as faults like that will disrupt the broadband.
The log entries you managed to get are showing 2 incidents of xDSL linestate down in short succession, so you definitely have a dropping connection.
I suggest you try plugging into the test socket to see if the problem continues. Power off the modem/router. Remove the ADSL v1.0 plate and plug a filter similar to this into the Test Socket.
If the problem continues, keep checking the phone line for noise and Raise a Fault and post the ticket number here. One of the CRT will help with all this where needed.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Constant drop outs

This is how we see your connection. I'm trying to see if this matches with your logs..
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14255731724151.png"/>
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
scr8pe
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 28-02-2015

Re: Constant drop outs

Thank you, it is reassuring to know that you have identified definite dropouts and it isnt something I'm doing wrong!
I going to leave all this in the hands of the engineer who is calling next week to set up the new fibre broadband  Smiley

Thanks for alll your help
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Constant drop outs

I'm sorry to say I think that would be a big mistake. If you have a problem with your phone line and it isn't a trivial thing like a connection at the Cab which will get changed anyway when you are moved to Fibre, the engineer that installs your Fibre is not likely to do anything about the line fault.
Now if the line fault is on the 'D' side, ie between the Cab and you, if it's severe enough he may not even connect your Fibre, but it would have to be pretty bad I would guess, but assuming he does connect you, the fault will have a major impact on your Fibre performance.
You will then have to go through the pain of getting the line issue resolved and then getting your Fibre connection reset, this latter aspect is a real pain because an engineer has to attend the Fibre Cab to do it and it's something they seem reluctant to do.
I'd suggest you do what is part of the standard fault finding process that I advised in reply#11 and plug a filter direct into the test socket.If the problem goes away, the ADSL v1.0 plate or it's connection to the Master socket back plate is faulty,  no problem, that will get replaced on the Fibre install. If however the problem continues, get a fault raised asap.