cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constant DNS issues

Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Constant DNS issues

Since last Thursday 27th Oct, I've been getting multiple DNS issues from my home connection.

 

webpages will time out, or give me a DNS error, no services will connect, origin, steam etc.

 

I have done all the checks requested, tested all my gear (I have multiple devices/computers connected, both wired and wirelessly) done a speed test, and when it finally started my speed was what it should be. Done a line test and that is fine, which is leading me to beleive there is something wrong with plus.nets DNS servers. I can't change the dns server on the router so can't try googles.

 

Anyone else getting the same or know what it could be?

 

I've logged this with plus.net, tried calling many, many times, raised a fault but got nothing helpful back.

44 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

Here are a few good programs to express better your problems to us.

https://www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm or https://code.google.com/archive/p/namebench/downloads

Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

after spending an hour now trying to register on the forums, and brows other issues I spotted https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/Failing-to-connect-to-websites-first-time-second-time-works/... Which sounds like an identical problem.
Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

That DNS benchmark test gave: System's nameserver is dead & NOT replying to queries! It probably comes as no surprise that all of this system's sole DNS resolving nameserver, with the IP address of [192.168.1.254] is apparently dead (at least for the moment) and is not replying to DNS queries since very little of the Internet is accessible without any DNS services.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

I am on the new network in the southeast and with just a quick test I see no issue with DNS using dns_bench which is another program.

 

Nameserver              Response Time (ms)
                        min/avg/max/stdev/retries

192.168.0.12            1.31/1.31/1.32/0.00/0
192.168.0.15            1.58/1.61/1.68/0.03/0
212.159.13.49           15.91/16.58/17.07/0.43/0
212.159.13.50           16.64/17.23/17.53/0.32/0
213.120.234.42          11.95/12.33/12.65/0.25/0
213.120.234.38          16.17/16.73/16.96/0.30/0

No packet loss either

Resolver2 (0.0.0.0)                                    Wed Nov  2 18:03:31 2016
Keys:  Help   Display mode   Restart statistics   Order of fields   quit
                                       Packets               Pings
 Host                                Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
 1. 192.168.0.254                     0.0%    16    1.2   1.4   1.2   4.1   0.6
 2. lo0.16.Central16.pcl-bng01.plus.  0.0%    16   11.1  11.8  11.0  17.5   1.5
 3. irb.16.pcl-cr01.plus.net          0.0%    16   11.6  11.9  11.3  17.2   1.3
 4. po2.pcl-gw01.plus.net             0.0%    16   12.2  12.0  11.7  12.5   0.0
 5. cdns01.plus.net                   0.0%    15   12.0  11.8  11.3  12.3   0.0

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

what modem/router is this, what operating system are you using ?

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

You can manually add any dns server you wish from a windows pc by the way, have you tried a reboot of your router by chance ?

 

Added:

Here you go https://www.opennicproject.org/configure-your-dns/how-to-change-dns-servers-in-windows-7/

Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

Seems my previous replies have been lost due to the dns issue. I have a plusnet hub one, I have many devices running different OS's this desktop runs win10, tried it with allocated DNS and googles DNS. I have stripped my entire network down and now only this pc is connected to the router via CAT5 directly and I still have issue connecting to site or services. I have horrific trouble with these forums. but to answer ytour question fully I have a desktop on Win10, a laptop on win8, a macbook running sierra, a couple of android devices and an iPad all have the exact same issue. Finally got through to telephone support (40min waitHuh?) and gone through some things, sending a new router so hopefully that should solve the issue.
Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

Seems my previous replies have been lost due to the dns issue.

 

I have a plusnet hub one, I have many devices running different OS's this desktop runs win10, tried it with allocated DNS and googles DNS. I have stripped my entire network down and now only this pc is connected to the router via CAT5 directly and I still have issue connecting to site or services. I have horrific trouble with these forums.

 

but to answer ytour question fully I have a desktop on Win10, a laptop on win8, a macbook running sierra, a couple of android devices and an iPad all have the exact same issue.

 

Finally got through to telephone support (40min waitHuh?) and gone through some things, sending a new router so hopefully that should solve the issue.

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

Glad to hear you have  another on it's way, hope it turns up quick for you.

Sorry I couldn't help any further.

I guess you have tried the reset button then ?

Added:

As per plusnet....

If you’re having problems with setting your router up, it might be worth resetting it. Use a paper clip, pen, or something pointed to press in the reset pinhole button on the back of the router.

Keep the button pressed for 20 seconds. When the light on the front of your Hub turns green, release the reset button.

When the light on the front of the Hub turns blue, it’s now restored to factory settings.

Keep in mind that if you do this, it’ll completely restore your router to the settings it had when it arrived. So if you’ve made specific changes to your settings, they’ll need to be made again.

 

Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

Yeah hard reset it, no difference, has to be plus net DSL system somewhere. hardware here is fine, line check is fine and speed tests are fine, any DNS lookup fails, very odd.
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

Does tor work for you, just curious.

Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

Well this screengrab of ns_bench seems to show it's a dns issue, somewhere

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,211
Thanks: 95
Fixes: 4
Registered: 18-02-2013

Re: Constant DNS issues

Add 192.168.1.254 to that list.

Thats why I said to try tor, that doesn't  use your local dns etc

Mr_Ormerod
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 8
Registered: 02-11-2016

Re: Constant DNS issues

haha wish I could try it