cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection problems

Jonnyfitz

Connection problems

Help - i have just joined plusnet. All my devices connected with no issues apart from one. My panasonic hwt230 (hard drive recorder) will not connect no matter what i try. It looks to be connected and displays the signal strength but will not go online or join my home network. The unit tells me that there are issues with the router settings. Can anyone help?
10 REPLIES 10
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 157

Re: Connection problems

Hi Johnyfitz,
Welcome to the forums and to PlusNet.  You'll find a mixture of helpful customers here as well as plusNet staff (M-F 9-5).
I've no personal experience of your recording device, but I've had a look at the manual.  From your description (reference to signal strength), would be be correct in concluding that you have connected via WiFi?  Are you using the PlusNet (PN) supplied TG582n router?  Did you connect using the WPS buttons?
Have you checked the network settings on the recorder?  See page 74 of the manual - all address settings should be set to auto.  Is the allocated address shown?  If allocated by the router it should be something like 192.168.1.64 to .250. Look at the router admin page and see if you can see the device in the device list.
There is a slim possibility that the DHCP address allocation between the router and the recorder has failed.  I've seen this with visa PC platforms.  In the first instance, restarting the router fixes this.
As a last resort, you can manually configure the IP address in the recorder - assuming that you are using the default configuration for the TG582n, the following should work.
Address: 192.168.1.10
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.254
DNS: 192.168.1.254

If this works, then there is indeed a DHCP issue.  Try a few things to gather more information and post back.