cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection constantly drops! Help please!

FIXED
tekkamanblade1
Dabbler

Connection constantly drops! Help please!

Firstly sorry about the caps.

I've been with plusnet since 2011, all good. Then I moved last November, all good till a couple of weeks ago.

I think my connection constantly drops. Now I'm a bit of a noob. So don't really know what happened. But I think I observed that the broadband will suddenly disconnect, and re-start connecting. This started about 2 weeks ago. Last week was pretty bad, I remembered there was a night it kept re-connecting after got connected. This week is better, but I estimate it will disconnect at least 5, 6 or even more a day.

I connect to internet through WiFi on all my devices. The router I use is the original router I had since 2011 from Plusnet. I tried to restart the router, and problem still exists. Also, I moved router's place a bit, not sure that helped hugely.

I was thinking of open a fault ticket, and actually half-opened one. However, I'm not comfortable about the concept of getting a new router and try my luck, as after reading a bit on the forum it almost is not user's equipment fault.

I would be much appreciated if any staff here could help me have a look. Thanks in advance!

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): All caps title/text edited as per Forum rules.

10 REPLIES 10
tekkamanblade1
Dabbler

Re: Connection constantly drops! Help please!

This evening has been bad so far.

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 1,599

Hi there. Welcome to the community forums.

I'm sorry to hear you're experiencing connection problems.

Whilst our tests aren't finding a definitive cause of the drops which we can see, I've made a change to the settings on your line that should help stabilise your connection.

If the drops continue in a few hours I'd recommend running through the troubleshooting steps here next.

Let us know how you get on.