cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection Problems - Complete Novice!

matthedges

Connection Problems - Complete Novice!

Hi all,
I am not the most knowledgable person on broadband so other than IP addresses and the basics of a speedtest I am a novice with all the lingo so please bear with me as this will take a while to explain.
Basically I got connected last wednesday having previously been with Sky Broadband - I changed to be able to get a fixed IP address as I need to access my work from home and my IT department have said that this is the only way they will allow me remote access.
Since being connected I have not been able to have a steady connection with the line dropping as frequently as every 5-10 minutes all day. 
Originally on SKY I had an extension cable running from my main phoneline socket to round behind my TV as I use my TV screen with my PC (Line was like this when I moved in) - I had a microfilter connected and then that connected to both my SKY plus box and the router (used a netgear router).
I used to have that router plugged in via ethernet cable and the service with SKY (although some initial problems) was fine, not great, but it worked anyway for me.
When I changed last week to PlusNet option 3 I used the exact same set up except with the new BT Voyager 2110 router I was supplied with and the new microfilters - whilst it connected and allowed me access to the internet the line continually dropped every so often and then reconnected (by itself).  I have started and continue to go down the fault checker route but I appear to be getting no further response having them carried out initial checks that showed no results.
I am getting speeds of just 450Kb/s on average for download and approx 340Kb/s for upload if this helps?