cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connection Fault

nigelp
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-01-2014

Connection Fault

My internet connection is dropping intermittently.
The log on my modem gives the following recurring error:
1/19/2014 14:18:40> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/19/2014 14:20:6> Last errorlog repeat 141 Times
1/19/2014 14:20:32> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/19/2014 16:4:17> Last errorlog repeat 2871 Times
1/19/2014 16:4:38> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/19/2014 16:4:44> Last errorlog repeat 2 Times
1/19/2014 16:5:5> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/19/2014 16:6:57> Last errorlog repeat 59 Times

SNR Margin is 0.1db (downstream) and 6.7db (upstream)
Line Attenuation is 41.1db (downstream) and 21.2db (upstream)
Data Rate is 11296 kbps (downstream) and 1092kbps (upstream)
Does anyone know what the problem might be?
Let me know if I can provide any more data.
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Connection Fault

Yes...you need a SNR reset. You're basically syncing at too high a rate that your line can handle.
I think someone from PN will have to do this on Monday.
Out of interest, are you connected to your master socket?
nigelp
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-01-2014

Re: Connection Fault

Thanks for the quick reply.
I'm not connected to the master socket. I took the faceplate off to check.
I can't seem to find where my master socket is. I live in a block of flats and I can only find an old oval GPO connector coming into my flat (if that makes sense).
How do I request an SNR reset?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Connection Fault

One of the Digital Care team from PN should be able to do that after seeing this thread on Monday morning.
Have you tried seeing if there is any noise on your line? You can dial 17070 and choose option 2 for a Quiet Line test.
It could be that you don't have a Master Socket. They normally ask you to test your internet connection from there to rule out any internal wiring problems.
nigelp
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-01-2014

Re: Connection Fault

OK. If anyone from the Digital Care team sees this thread could they get in touch with me to sort this out - thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Connection Fault

Bumping this thread Smiley
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,479
Thanks: 246
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Connection Fault

@nigelp I've submitted the SNR reset which should sort that out within a couple of hours.
@AndyH Don't let the mods catch you bumping Wink
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
nigelp
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-01-2014

Re: Connection Fault

Thanks Adam.
My SNR Margin has now changed to 6db (downstream) and 6db (upstream).
Line Attenuation is still the same and my downstream data rate has fallen to 9222 kbps.
It seems to me that I have increased my downstream SNR margin at the expense of some downstream speed. This is fine if it increases the stability of my connection.
This is the output on my log file:
1/21/2014 9:30:5> SNMP TRAP 2: link down
1/21/2014 9:30:10> ppp_ready: ch:805332fc, iface:804ade24
1/21/2014 9:30:10> SNMP TRAP 3: link up
1/21/2014 9:30:10> Accept() fail
1/21/2014 9:30:10> Accept() fail
1/21/2014 9:30:13> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/21/2014 9:30:43> Last errorlog repeat 10 Times
1/21/2014 9:30:43> dynDNSOrgLogin:Error = -8, retCode
1/21/2014 9:31:12> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/21/2014 9:40:12> Last errorlog repeat 467 Times
1/21/2014 9:41:18> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/21/2014 9:58:39> Last errorlog repeat 77 Times
1/21/2014 10:3:42> netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
1/21/2014 10:4:13> Last errorlog repeat 5 Times
I still seem to be getting the repeating error code. Any thoughts?
nigelp
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-01-2014

Re: Connection Fault

Having looked at the data on my modem multiple times over the last hour, I can see that the downstream SNR Margin is varying between 4db and 6db.
The downstream Data Rate seems pretty stable at 9222kbps.
Still getting the errors though Sad
Dan_the_Van
Rising Star
Posts: 328
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Connection Fault

netMakeChannDial: err=-3000 rn_p=805195e4
Could this be a TP-Link router? I used to get those errors all the time. Although I had no problems I ask TP-Link support what it means. They advised me to ignore the error and enjoy using my product.  Grin
For the last year I have been using PN supplied router as wanted to use Router Stats
Dan
nigelp
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 19-01-2014

Re: Connection Fault

Hi Dan,
Yes, it is a TP-Link router. Thanks for letting me know. I guess this means everything is okay.
Thanks everyone for your support and for fixing this  Smiley