cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 304
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

Hi all.
I seem to be losing access to the Internet quite frequently. It's happened a few times in the last day or so. Wifi states I'm connected but there's no Internet. Presumably this is a synch issue? And it happens in the evening. I've done all the necessary checks; even rang PN and they said the line's fine. I'm using a Hub 1 router for standard ADSL. Is this where the problem lies?
9 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Pro
Posts: 258
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 9
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

When a Plusnet staffer comes along he will be able to tell you definitely whether the line is occasionally dropping. This may also be logged in your Hub One advanced settings. I don't have one so can't advise there, on my later model (BT SmartHub 6) there is an Event Log under Technical Log. The problem with ringing in is that the agent you speak to may only be looking at whether the line is up at the time of your call. There are no problems with using a Hub One on ADSL lines.

Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 304
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

Thanks Baldrick.

And it's happening again. And then about 15 mins later it'll go back to normal. Rinse and repeat every hour or so.

What exactly is the issue at PN's end?

And just to add, this is what the Event Log shows:

"18:29:27, 04 Dec. (197558.350000) Device connected: Hostname: udhcp-​1-​14-​1-​00-​09-​df-​bd-​49-​1c-​2 IP: 192.168.1.71 MAC: 00:09:df:bd:49:1c Lease time: 1440 min. Link rate: 104.9 Mbps

18:29:27, 04 Dec. (197558.270000) Lease requested

18:29:27, 04 Dec. (197557.880000) Lease for IP 192.168.1.71 renewed by host udhcp-​1-​14-​1-​00-​09-​df-​bd-​49-​1c-​2 (MAC 00:09:df:bd:49:1c). Lease duration: 1440 min

18:29:27, 04 Dec. (197557.880000) Device connected: Hostname: udhcp-​1-​14-​1-​00-​09-​df-​bd-​49-​1c-​2 IP: 192.168.1.71 MAC: 00:09:df:bd:49:1c Lease time: 1440 min. Link rate: 103.0 Mbps

18:29:27, 04 Dec. (197557.800000) Lease requested

18:29:26, 04 Dec. (197557.320000) Lease for IP 192.168.1.71 renewed by host udhcp-​1-​14-​1-​00-​09-​df-​bd-​49-​1c-​2 (MAC 00:09:df:bd:49:1c). Lease duration: 1440 min

18:29:26, 04 Dec. (197557.320000) Device connected: Hostname: udhcp-​1-​14-​1-​00-​09-​df-​bd-​49-​1c-​2 IP: 192.168.1.71 MAC: 00:09:df:bd:49:1c Lease time: 1440 min. Link rate: 106.4 Mbps

18:29:26, 04 Dec. (197557.250000) Lease requested.....

....and so on.
Caerefail
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 07-09-2015

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

To me this doesn't look like a line issue - the lease is normally a DHCP lease handed out by the router to the device trying to connect. Normal practice is that these leases are renewed at 24 hour intervals. It looks as if this device is having problems obtaining a lease, which could be either a router fault or a problem with the network connection on the device, possibly a driver issue. It may be worth trying a factory reset of the router, if this hasn't already been done and seeing if there are any more up-to-date drivers available for the WiFi card in your device. It may also be worth fixing your WiFi channel to a specific one, normally either 1, 6 or 11, after checking to see which is least congested. I had a problem with my tablet connecting using the Auto setting on the router - once I changed the channel to 6, it connected quite happily.

Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 304
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

@Caerefail - It's the 2nd Hub 1 I've had in the last month or so. And both with the same problems. I don't think it's a hardware issue.

I've done a factory reset a few days ago and it seems the 'non-access to the internet' keeps coming back.

As I say, it's mainly in the evenings that this happens. Can you deduce from that where the problem might be?
Caerefail
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 07-09-2015

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

Do you know if the problem is repeated using a wired connection? What device is having the problem connecting to the internet or is it all devices? As I've said, I get a similar problem sometimes on my tablet - I know that it is because of an issue with the WiFi drivers on the tablet and Windows 10, but it doesn't happen often enough that it's a problem - I just re-boot the tablet! Bit of a pain but it's liveable with for me - the point being that, certainly in my case, the issue is nothing to do with PlusNet or the connection but problems with my own systems :-(

Perhaps you can see if there are any known issues with your device and wiFi connections?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,159
Thanks: 865
Fixes: 212
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

I'm sorry to hear you're experiencing connection problems.

I'd too recommend trying a wired connection as this will help narrow down where the issue lies.

 

Let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 304
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

Hi all.

Yes; sadly the problem occurs even with a wired connection Sad

And I've just seen this part of the event log:

 

16:54:29, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.212.110 on ppp0)
16:54:28, 05 Dec. BLOCKED 3 more packets (because of ICMP replay)
16:54:26, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.212.110 on ppp0)
16:54:24, 05 Dec. (278253.230000) Admin login successful by 192.168.1.83 on HTTP
16:54:18, 05 Dec. IN: BLOCK [16] Remote administration (TCP [209.92.176.11]:61833-​>[87.112.243.197]:22 on ppp0)
16:52:31, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.211.164 on ppp0)
16:52:29, 05 Dec. BLOCKED 2 more packets (because of ICMP replay)
16:52:28, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.211.164 on ppp0)
16:52:26, 05 Dec. BLOCKED 6 more packets (because of ICMP replay)
16:52:25, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.210.34 on ppp0)
16:52:23, 05 Dec. BLOCKED 2 more packets (because of ICMP replay)
16:52:22, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.210.34 on ppp0)
16:52:05, 05 Dec. BLOCKED 3 more packets (because of ICMP replay)
16:52:04, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.212.98 on ppp0)
16:52:02, 05 Dec. BLOCKED 5 more packets (because of ICMP replay)
16:52:01, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>216.58.212.98 on ppp0)
16:51:22, 05 Dec. (278071.890000) New GUI session from IP 192.168.1.65
16:51:22, 05 Dec. ath10: STA ec:1f:72:7b:14:1b IEEE 802.11: Client disassociated
16:51:21, 05 Dec. OUT: BLOCK [7] ICMP replay (ICMP type 3 code 1 87.112.243.197-​>104.27.91.14 on ppp0)

 

Does that mean anything significant?

 

And also, this issue is across all devices; whether on laptops, phones, or tablets.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

Caerefail
Rising Star
Posts: 75
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 07-09-2015

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

I don't think that these messages are anything to worry about - I get similar ones on my router all the time.

Does the WAN event log have anything unusual in it? When you are having problems connecting, is there a lot of traffic on the network? Perhaps something uploading data?

Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 304
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Re: Connected but no Internet - possible synch issue?

I don't think there's anything unusual about the WAN event log. And no-one's uploading any data when the problem occurs.

Sadly I've had to 'downgrade' the router to the Hub 0 (the 2704n one) and things seem ok for the time being.

I've a feeling the Hub 1 isn't really for a standard ADSL line even though it does work (well, not always as can be seen from this thread).

I think PN should really test the Hub 1 fully on ADSL.