cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused!?

Angrypetee
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 04-07-2012

Confused!?

Just in the process of transferring my fibre optic from our address to another (not 20 metres away I might add)
But PN have told me that fibre is not available at new address?
Slightly confused as my village has recently seen somewhat of a fibre optic boom..
As I said new property is no more than 20 metres away and is serviced by the same cabinet that the rest of the village is on..
I'm confused....

(Excuse the disjointed writing...I'm drunk...it's my birthday) Cheesy
37 REPLIES
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Confused!?

Quote from: Angrypetee
As I said new property is no more than 20 metres away and is serviced by the same cabinet that the rest of the village is on..

No spare capacity in the cabinet  Crazy
Oh! and Enjoy the rest of your birthday  Cheesy
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

Hi there,
If you're connected to the same cabinet it will more than likely be a capacity issue as mentioned above, I'll try and dig further into that for you tomorrow and see if that's the case.
Chris
Angrypetee
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 04-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

Ahhhhhh....fair point...
Is there anything Openreach can do?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Confused!?

Put in a bigger cabinet!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

If that's the case then we either need extra capacity added if possible or waiting for somebody to cancel their broadband.
I'll get more info tomorrow.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Confused!?

Chicken and egg, really Cheesy
Angrypetee can have the connection freed up when they move his internet to the new address  Roll eyes but I don't know whether they disconnect  before connecting or need a time warp ......  Crazy
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
Angrypetee
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 04-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

I was just gonna say that!!
Will wait for info...
But yeah... I'm "cancelling" at one address and starting anew at another?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,307
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Confused!?

I'm guessing that, if the cabinet's 'full', then someone else might already be on the waiting list for the next cancelled FTTC line.  Sad
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Angrypetee
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 04-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

Understood.... But I'm not technically cancelling..
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Confused!?

I think this is being approached from the wrong direction, as it is similar to my position some weeks ago (though I only have ADSL  Roll eyes )
Physically, the most time consuming task is to disconnect the modem, carry it to the new house and reconnect it  Smiley The most demanding task is manually getting the job actioned because the automated systems "say no"  Cry
There is no need to visit the exchange as moving the links at the line to the "old" over to the line to the "new" house is the only external task (plus possibly a reverse link move as well) and moves both phone and FBB.
In my case, it was a change of links to move my connection from a damaged cable to the house to an new cable connected via the nearest "pit" (adding 20m to the length as the new route goes past my house to the pit and back again instead of direct).
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
gunsmoke
Grafter
Posts: 71
Registered: 02-05-2012

Re: Confused!?

It might also depend on where you are moving from / to
I can think of plenty of places in my village where moving across the road, or just round the corner where you go from avaiable, to un available
Where are you?
GunSmoke
Angrypetee
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 04-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

East Tilbury.... 
jim:quote
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

We're chasing this up today and we'll update you as soon as BTw get back to us(should be today).
Angrypetee
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 04-07-2012

Re: Confused!?

Smashing!!  Grin