cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused By BT Speedtest Graphs - help appreciated...

SimonofHenley
Dabbler

Confused By BT Speedtest Graphs - help appreciated...

Hi All, apologies if this is total newbie question that has been answered hundreds of times.
I'm trying to troubleshoot a speed problem (based on the KB and forums), and I get very contradictory results from BT
#1: speedtester.bt.com: "Download speed achieved during the test was  0.21 Mbps. For your connection the acceptable range of speeds is 0.1 Mbps-0.25Mbps"
#2: BT wholesale broadband availability checker: "Your exchange is ADSL enabled and our initial test on your line indicates that your line should be able to have an ADSL broadband service that provides a  fixed line speed up to 2Mbps"
Any suggestions what's going on?
All help appreciated!
50 REPLIES 50
vultura
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Confused By BT Speedtest Graphs - help appreciated...

Hi, welcome to the forums.
Do you know which type of package you are on?  Is it an old fixed rate package or a newer up to 8Mb one?
Has anyone seen my signature, it's gone missing.
St3
Aspiring Champion
Fixes: 5

If the user Anotherone offers his help, please accept it Wink
vultura
Rising Star

+1 to that, he seems to be very good with low speed issues.
Can you post up the current stats, etc as per this thread - http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html.
dick:quote
SimonofHenley
Dabbler

Hmmm - again pardon my ignorance, but I don't think my package guarantees a line speed, just a data volume. At the moment I'm way below my volume threshold (12 GB of an allowed monthly 60GB). Does that answer the question? 
SimonofHenley
Dabbler

jelv
Seasoned Hero
Fixes: 10

As vultura suggested can you post all the information requested in this post: http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
The BT speed test results will tell us what type of connection you have.

Posts crossed!