cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conflicting country codes?

BJK
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

Conflicting country codes?

I have a problem that I have been unable to connect by wifi today, when I conducted a diagnostic with my mac I was advised that there was a conflicting country code.
Whilst I have connected via ethernet cable, thankfully, I would like to resolve this issue.
Advice gratefully received.
Seasons greetings to all
10 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,807
Thanks: 873
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Conflicting country codes?

I'm not an Apple expert but this might help https://discussions.apple.com/message/23664441#23664441
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Conflicting country codes?

what is the bit about TalkTalk in your second screen cap
BJK
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

Re: Conflicting country codes?

I have absolutely no idea!
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Conflicting country codes?

The only thing I can think is that it was trying to connect to another persons router
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,807
Thanks: 873
Fixes: 56
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Conflicting country codes?

MY link suggests that there maybe another router ( on the same channel ) that is configured for a different coutry than your own, hence possibly the TalkTalk SSID. Why that is a probelm , only Apple know! Roll eyes
Solution is to try changing the channel on your own router.
BJK
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

Re: Conflicting country codes?

When I checked the channels the talktalk router is on ch1 and I am on ch12, the only one on ch12 in the immediate area!
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Conflicting country codes?

I suggest changing to channel 11 as the mac may not pick up channel 12
BJK
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎12-06-2013

Re: Conflicting country codes?

I changed to CH11. So far so good.
Many thanks
dick:quote
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,836
Thanks: 2,018
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Conflicting country codes?

that's weird, I had no problems with my macs on 12; however, 13 was an issue.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Conflicting country codes?

Different regions use different wireless channels:
Could it be the Mac is set for the wrong region?
USA  channels 1 to 11
Europe channels 1 to 13
Japan channels 1 to 14 (14 is wireless b only)