cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configuring new Netgear router.

cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Configuring new Netgear router.

Hi,
I just bought a Netgear DGND3300v2 and installed it, I've also run the "Setup Wizard" to establish a connection. unfortunately I'm getting an error in the connection status window:
connection time: 00:00:00
connecting to server: Failed
negotiation: LCP is allowed to come up
authentication: CHAP authentication failed
Looking through google it would appear to be a password/username issue but on further inspection it could be that the line doesn't support ADSL2+ modems. I've checked on Exchange Status Checker with says that "BT have advised that no current planned date for WBC on 21CN exists" but on the right hand section there's a green tick next to Network Capacity (ADSL2+/21CN) so I'm a little confused.
my username is <removed>
Thank you in advance
jim:green personal data removed but moved to hidden forums mod:end
3 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,859
Thanks: 115
Fixes: 35
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Configuring new Netgear router.

An ADSL2+ router should still work just fine on a 20CN connection, infact as I suspected when I checked our connection logs it looks like you've got the wrong password set.
I'd try re-entering that next and failing that give support a quick call (0800 432 0200) as we can confirm that for you after a couple of security checks.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
cookertron
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 24-10-2011

Re: Configuring new Netgear router.

No need Adam, changing my password seems to have done the trick!
Thanks for the reply
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: Configuring new Netgear router.

I use this router and in the past 12 months I have had it connected to Plusnet, it has been flawless.
It NEVER drops connection, the wireless is brilliant, but I had to set it to 300Mbps on 2.4Ghz instead of 5Ghz, as the wireless range was cut quite short.. however that could have been due to living in a victorian house with thick walls.
I have 4 items wired (exbox, smart tv, samsung bluray, freesat) and 6 wireless (iPhone 5, Galaxy S3, 2 x Laptops, 1 iPad3, printer)  They all work flawless.
My stats:  (Ignore the short uptime.. pesky power cuts  Crazy)


System Up Time 95:08:24
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 5023107 6619733 0 2122 4145 94:55:13
LAN 10M/100M 6764687 3545408 0 10510 1666 95:08:20
WLAN 11M/54M/300M 0 0 0 0 0 95:07:50
ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 16475 kbps 1243 kbps
Line Attenuation 29.5 db 14.3 db
Noise Margin 3.1 db 5.8 db