cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Checking Broadband Info

sep9001
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: a month ago

Checking Broadband Info

Hi

I am on standard broadband and over the last few week my broadband speed (download) has been very slow, before I continue with trouble shooting to see if it is an issue with my router or line can anyone confirm if these from the router look fine or not:

 

Thank you

I use speed of me to test the speed with the pc connected to the router via ethernet:

Download speeds I get:

 

2017-11-13 19:37:41.857

1.2

2017-11-13 19:37:41.898

0.01

2017-11-13 19:37:41.990

0.03

2017-11-13 19:37:42.096

0.23

2017-11-13 19:37:42.260

0.29

2017-11-13 19:37:42.347

0.49

2017-11-13 19:37:42.590

0.6

2017-11-13 19:37:42.650

0.63

2017-11-13 19:37:42.833

0.67

2017-11-13 19:37:42.896

0.82

2017-11-13 19:37:43.092

0.7

2017-11-13 19:37:43.221

0.65

2017-11-13 19:37:43.277

0.66

2017-11-13 19:37:43.329

0.7

 

Thank you

Sep

13 REPLIES
bmc
Pro
Posts: 432
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Checking Broadband Info

What does the DSL Checker say for your line.

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

 

Brian

sep9001
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: a month ago

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Hi Brian,

Thank you for replying, this is what I get from the site you have linked to:

 

ADSL Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

Availability Date

     

Left in Jumper

WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 3.5 -- 2.5 to 4.5 Available -- -- -- --
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M Up to 3.5 Up to 1 2.5 to 4.5 Available -- -- -- --
ADSL Max Up to 2.5 -- 1.5 to 3.5 Available -- -- -- --
WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available -- -- -- --
Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available -- -- -- --

Other Offerings

     

Availability Date

       
ADSL Multicast -- -- -- Available -- -- -- --

Premise environment

Status

Bridge Tap U              
VRI N              
NTEFaceplate N              
Last Test Date 19-05-2017          

 

bmc
Pro
Posts: 432
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 3
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Certainly looks like your speed is below what you should be getting. Hopefully a member of staff will pick this up and have a look.

 

If you don't already have the address the following site will give details if any faster services are planned for your area.

https://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/home/index.do

 

Brian

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,985
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Something is looking odd here.  With the reported line attenuation one might hope for 7Mbps+ DS synch at 6dB SNRM.  Your router stats report a sync speed of 3.5mbps and a SNRM of 8dB.

I rather suspect that the line might be banded, due to a history of line issues.  The data speed tests do not correlate with the line synch rate.

  • Which router are you using?
  • Is the router plugged into the master socket?
  • Is there any extension wiring?
  • You should use the BT Wholesale speed test site
  • Were the speed tests conducted over wifi or ethernet?

 

Broadband is not going to work well if the "phone" line is not working properly.

Please perform a quiet line test - dial 17070 select option 2 using a corded phone plugged into the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket. It should be silent. A noisy phone line (or no dial tone) will have a marked adverse impact on the performance of broadband.

If the line is noisy or there is no dial tone, then a PHONE LINE fault needs to be raised with your phone provider. If this is PlusNet, you can report a fault on line using the button below.


 

How is your line performing?

Please post your router stats; for PN TG582n and 2704n routers use the buttons below, for other routers look at the Kitz link.

Also run a BT Wholesale speed test (ideally using an Ethernet wired PC with the WiFi turned off) then run the further diagnostics and post the results here. DO NOT REBOOT the router!

Also find your CURRENT SPEED (PlusNet line profile) from the PlusNet user portal - you will need to log in.


 The above need to be obtained simultaneously - not 'across' a line resynch event.

sep9001
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: a month ago

Re: Checking Broadband Info

@Townman

Thank you replying, I can confirm:

 

  • Which router are you using? - Asus DSL-N55u_D1 - https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/DSLN55U_D1/
  • Is the router plugged into the master socket? Yes
  • Is there any extension wiring? No
  • You should use the BT Wholesale speed test site. As above following Brian's post I have added the info.
  • Were the speed tests conducted over wifi or ethernet? Wired

I factory reset the router last night and not get better speeds between 2 and 4 mbps. The DSL log is as below:

 

Line Stats
  Downstream Upstream
TCM(Trellis Coded Modulation)
1
1
SNR Margin
2.6 dB
6.5 dB
Line Attenuation
38.6 dB
26.6 dB
Path Mode
FastPath
FastPath
Interleave Depth
1
1
Data Rate
4660 kbps
931 kbps
MAX Rate
5052 kbps
940 kbps
POWER
0.0 dbm
12.4 dbm
INP
0.0 symbols
0.0 symbols
INP-SHINE
-
-
INP-REIN
-
-
CRC
1438
0
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,985
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Checking Broadband Info

@sep9001,

Thank you for the details.  Line stats still do not look right ... SNRM is markedly different from before.  Can you please confirm that this router is not attempting to "fix" the SNRM?

@Gandalf - can you do some of your magic here please?  Why is the synch speed so low for a 38dB attenuated circuit?

 

 

sep9001
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: a month ago

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Sorry, how do I find out if the router is trying to "fix" the SNRM?

Thank you

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,118
Thanks: 854
Fixes: 210
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Hi Sep. I'm sorry to hear you're experiencing speed problems.

 

The current sync rate of 4660kbps seems about right for your speed estimates.

Testing your line isn't identifying a definitive cause of why your download speed is so slow.

I've bumped up the SNR target a notch to 6db as 3db can sometimes cause throughput problems.

 

Can you let us know how your speed is in about an hour?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,985
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Checking Broadband Info

@Gandalf

Any thoughts on why the sync speed is so low for the reported attenuation?

Do your CLT results indicate a different attenuation - one more in keeping with a 4.6mbps synch speed?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,118
Thanks: 854
Fixes: 210
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Checking Broadband Info

The line length is showing at 2931m with an attenuation of 40.6 dB

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,985
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Even with the CLT attenuation reporting higher than that that given by the router, the synch is way lower that that projected for a line of that length ... unless of course it is not all copper - possibly some old British Telecom (or even GPO) cost-cutting aluminium wires?

sep9001
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: a month ago

Re: Checking Broadband Info

@Gandalf

 

Thank you for looking into this.

 

I have done a speed test and it is better then when I started this thread, however when I was running the tests yesterday I was getting about 4Mbps download, trying it now I am getting between 2 and 3.3 Mbps.

 

I have attached a screen shot of the test and the router DSL log.

 

Thank you

sep9001
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: a month ago

Re: Checking Broadband Info

Sorry the second image did not load.

 

Now attached.

Thank you