cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Check line for errors using router stats?

karencharltonuk
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-04-2015

Check line for errors using router stats?

How do I check for errors on my line.  And how many errors is too many?  I have the new sagemcom router.
My broadband just doesn't feel right, it was always fast and responsive with sky but now its sluggish even though speed tests show 7MB D/L.  Some web pages just sit there then suddenly come to life.
Thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

Routerstats etc. won't work as they have blocked Telnet Access
The only way is to go to Help Desk in the menu but I don't know how much information is there
karencharltonuk
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-04-2015

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

It's ok i think i found it via the expert menu;  How does it look?
Statistics -- xDSL

Mode: ADSL_2plus
Traffic Type: ATM
Status: Up
Link Power State: L0

Downstream Upstream
Line Coding(Trellis): On On
SNR Margin (1 dB): 3.8 11.2
Attenuation (1 dB): 43.0 23.3
Output Power (1 dBm): 0.0 12.8
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 9152 888

Path 0 Path 1
Downstream Upstream Downstream Upstream
Rate (Kbps): 9367 888 0 0

MSGc (# of bytes in overhead channel message): 59 10 0 0
B (# of bytes in Mux Data Frame): 145 13 0 0
M (# of Mux Data Frames in FEC Data Frame): 1 8 0 0
T (Mux Data Frames over sync bytes): 2 9 0 0
R (# of check bytes in FEC Data Frame): 10 16 0 0
S (ratio of FEC over PMD Data Frame length): 0.4970 4.0000 0.0 0.0
L (# of bits in PMD Data Frame): 2511 256 0 0
D (interleaver depth): 64 8 0 0
Delay (msec): 8 8 0.0 0.0
INP (DMT symbol): 1.00 2.00 0.0 0.0

Super Frames: 2009513 1783139 0 0
Super Frame Errors: 20915 125 0 0
RS Words: 261236449 2428395 0 0
RS Correctable Errors: 2636847 894 0 0
RS Uncorrectable Errors: 43779 0 0 0

HEC Errors: 66291 112 0 0
OCD Errors: 0 0 0 0
LCD Errors: 0 0 0 0
Total Cells: 717134180 67950509 0 0
Data Cells: 36049051 5394338 0 0
Bit Errors: 0 9290 0 0

Total ES: 9282 65
Total SES: 210 0
Total UAS: 170 105
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

What do you mean when it "doesn't feel right"? Is this browsing alone, or other activities?
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
karencharltonuk
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-04-2015

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

Quote from: plusnettony
What do you mean when it "doesn't feel right"? Is this browsing alone, or other activities?

Sorry, I mean it seems there's some sort of delay sometimes when first opening web pages which I never experienced with sky.
I had my upload speed uncapped recently and that has helped the download speed issues when uploading, but it still feels sluggish sometimes.  Its hard to pinpoint.
I just want someone to look at my line and tell me if there are any possible issues.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

from a command prompt please post the results of ipconfig /all specifically the DNS part (note the space between ipconfig and /all
gingerbloke
Grafter
Posts: 185
Registered: 28-07-2011

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

Not quite OT, have you tried changing the DNS (I use 8.8.4.4 and 8.8.8.8, which are googles) - there's often something not right with the PN defaults I often find.
A
Quote from: karencharltonuk
How do I check for errors on my line.  And how many errors is too many?  I have the new sagemcom router.
My broadband just doesn't feel right, it was always fast and responsive with sky but now its sluggish even though speed tests show 7MB D/L.  Some web pages just sit there then suddenly come to life.
Thanks in advance.
karencharltonuk
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 24-04-2015

Re: Check line for errors using router stats?

I have the dns on the router set to googles. 8.8.8.8 etc.
Windows IP Configuration
  Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MisterDave-TOSH
  Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
  Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
  IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
  WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
  DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:
  Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
  Description . . . . . . . . . . . : TAP-Windows Adapter V9
  Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-49-22-4F-46
  DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
  Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : lan
  Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9002WB-1NG Wireless Network Ada
pter
  Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-74-9F-78-AF-6C
  DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
  Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::340d:9a6e:c7f3:f2fd%13(Preferred)
  IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.4(Preferred)
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
  Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 02 May 2015 07:38:37
  Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 03 May 2015 07:38:47
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 464811167
  DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-29-D9-34-60-EB-69-E5-BB-5D
  DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled