cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

bathplug
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2012

Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

I'm using a Technicolor TG582n FTTC router supplied by PlusNet, running software version 10.2.5.5.
I want to change the DNS Servers so I can use OpenDNS.  There are various forum and web sites giving instructions for doing this via telnet.  However, while I can log in to the router OK the telnet command "dns server route list" returns "invalid command".  {dns} then {server} then {route} gets you to a command prompt where the available commands are {add} and {flush}.  I am reluctant to try {flush} until I know I can {add}, however when I follow through the {add} command group it eventually says the new server has not been added.  I don't know if this is because the router will only take two DNS addresses, or something else.
Does anyone know how to change DNS Servers with the TG582 running 10.2.5.5?
Many thanks.
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,187
Thanks: 486
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎10-06-2010

Re: Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

Some commands are different in the version 10 firmware, see here: http://npr.me.uk/telnet.html#dnsr10
nicktee
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎22-03-2013

Re: Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

I did post some detailed instructions in this forumna couple of months or so ago. should still be here somewhere
The version 10 firmware has completely different CL instructions
nicktee
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎22-03-2013

Re: Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

Here we are:
Open Telnet to the router as usual then
dns server flush  (clears the present DNS settings)
dns server forward dnsset add  (return)
It then asks questions
[set]= 0
[dns]= 208.67.222.222
[label] =
[metric] = 5
[intf] = Internet
[udpsize] =
[owner] =
It then returns a line with the settings you have input
Then
dns server forward dnsset add  (return)
[set]= 0
[dns]= 208.67.220.220
[label] =
[metric] = 10
[intf] = Internet
[udpsize] =
[owner] =
It then again returns a line with the settings you have input.
Just to check
dns server forward list
Then, of course,
saveall
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,841
Thanks: 103
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

Quote from: nicktee

Then
dns server forward dnsset add  (return)
[set]= 0
[dns]= 208.67.220.220
[label] =
[metric] = 10
[intf] = Internet
[udpsize] =
[owner] =

The ISP resolver will creep back in to that list, it's therefore important to use a metric of less than 10 for your custom setting.
nicktee
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎22-03-2013

Re: Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

Thanks, at the time I managed to work most of it out for myself, never did understand the 'metric' command though. I've acted on your advice to avoid ISP's resolvers creeping back in.  Smiley
bathplug
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2012

Re: Change DNS servers: Technicolor 582n

Very many thanks for the prompt and helpful replies.  Marvellous.