cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Nik3000
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-05-2016

Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Hello all,

On Friday 29th our broadband went down for most of the day with a red LED light on internet, we contacted Plusnet and they told me that they were moving a lot of people over to a new platform so it might be down and to check after midnight. 

The broadband indeed did go back on after midnight, however, since then I can only loads certain websites.

For example, Facebook and Outlook.com work but websites like Netflix, Plusnet itself or Amazon will not.

My browser just says establishing connection and it never loads.

Plusnet told me to turn my router off last night from 10pm to 7am so they can perform a dial test. Not sure what they did but I've replied to my question to them to say nothing changed and still not had a response.

Anyone else experiencing this or know a solution? 

Thanks. 

55 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Hi Nik3000, welcome to the forum.

There seem to be some strange issues cropping up from time to time as people are moved to the new Network. But what modem/router are you using?

Nik3000
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Hi! Thank you,

The router is 2704n.

I will add that websites load when using a proxy website.

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

If you log into it at http://192.168.1.254 then what DNS is set on the >Advanced settings >DNS tab ?

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,423
Thanks: 1,911
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

For the websites which will not load, can you try pinging their URLs - please report back the URL and the resolved IP address please.

@Anotherone (below) yup equally useful if its a routing problem, rather than a name resolution problem.  Was trying to take this in small steps! Thumbs Up

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

It would make more sense to do a tracert IMHO.

Nik3000
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

On the DNS tab..

DNS Server:
 
Primary DNS:
212.159.6.10
Secondary DNS:
212.159.6.9
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Well those are quite correctly the Plusnet ones. Can you open a command prompt and do a tracert to one of the sites giving problems?

Nik3000
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Ok done one on www.ocado.com

here are the results.

Traceroute has started…

 

traceroute to www.ocado.com (91.206.0.216), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets

1  dsldevice.lan (192.168.1.254)  5.250 ms  3.955 ms  1.462 ms

2  * * *

3  * * *

4  172.17.2.165 (172.17.2.165)  25.614 ms  10.917 ms  10.975 ms

5  172.17.10.34 (172.17.10.34)  13.129 ms  13.512 ms  12.843 ms

6  be2.pcn-ir01.plus.net (195.166.129.164)  12.193 ms  13.215 ms  12.099 ms

7  core1-be1.colindale.ukcore.bt.net (195.99.125.132)  13.259 ms  17.530 ms  18.705 ms

8  195.99.127.36 (195.99.127.36)  13.806 ms  15.200 ms  13.516 ms

9  acc2-10gige-0-4-0-6.l-far.21cn-ipp.bt.net (109.159.249.164)  14.687 ms  13.885 ms  12.852 ms

10  81.147.48.79 (81.147.48.79)  23.138 ms  15.287 ms  16.132 ms

11  91.206.0.10 (91.206.0.10)  18.546 ms  16.425 ms  14.757 ms

12  www.ocado.com (91.206.0.216)  15.113 ms  17.011 ms  15.597 ms

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Well there's nothing wrong with that tracert at a glance. Hops 2 & 3 show the routers there don't have any rDNS entries, that's not an issue, and you are certainly on the new network.

Are you still having trouble getting it to load? Try clearing all your caches, see if that helps.
I don't know if @Townman has any other bright ideas?

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,423
Thanks: 1,911
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

I think this needs to be a matter of doing the ping / tracert at the time that the web browser cannot access the site.

We're looking to confirm a clean DNS resolution at the time of the connect failure.  This issue has some characteristic of what we've seen elsewhere with a different router.  That possibility needs to be eliminated - that problem has an intermittent profile and thus is not easy to profile.

@Nik3000 what OS are you using?

Nik3000
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Mostly using OSX Yosemite but I also have a PC with Windows 7, same problem on there. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

To be clear townman, I don't think you should muddy the waters with comparison to the issue you are thinking of.
However, this could be a failed DNS lookup and unless it persists even just for a short while, it'll be tricky to pin down without doing something like running Wireshark which is starting to get a bit hairy.
And I don't know if there's a version that will run on OSX.

Could try this from a Command Prompt or whatever the OSX equivalent commands are, when you are getting a problem, then after, substitute www.ocado.com for ntp.plus.net and do the same again.

ping 192.168.1.254
ping 8.8.8.8
nslookup ntp.plus.net
nslookup ntp.plus.net 192.168.1.254
nslookup ntp.plus.net 4.2.2.3
nslookup ntp.plus.net 212.159.6.9
nslookup ntp.plus.net ntp.plus.net
ping ntp.plus.net
ipconfig /flushdns
tracert ntp.plus.net


I have no idea if this can be made to work, can't test myself at the moment

pathping www.ocado.com -q 50 -T     I think it will crash as hops 2 & 3 timeout.

HTH.

Nik3000
Dabbler
Posts: 20
Thanks: 4
Registered: 01-05-2016

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

Ok entered what you said into Mac terminal, I'm not expert on this stuff so sorry id I'm not doing it right. It just kept loading loads of results but I copied a chunk of it.

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=6.004 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.665 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=2.115 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=4.745 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=3.593 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=2.141 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=6.580 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=6.225 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=5.039 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=9.432 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=4.259 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=2.670 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=3.998 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=4.483 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=8.123 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=4.436 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=4.175 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=4.718 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=4.419 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=20 ttl=64 time=4.933 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=21 ttl=64 time=17.161 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=22 ttl=64 time=114.572 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=23 ttl=64 time=49.494 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=24 ttl=64 time=4.354 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=25 ttl=64 time=69.073 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=26 ttl=64 time=126.561 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=27 ttl=64 time=69.017 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=28 ttl=64 time=4.958 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=29 ttl=64 time=4.523 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=30 ttl=64 time=4.060 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=31 ttl=64 time=7.431 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=32 ttl=64 time=4.810 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=33 ttl=64 time=4.489 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=34 ttl=64 time=1.747 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=35 ttl=64 time=4.426 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=36 ttl=64 time=5.063 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=37 ttl=64 time=4.788 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=38 ttl=64 time=4.403 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=39 ttl=64 time=4.416 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=40 ttl=64 time=9.198 ms

64 bytes from 192.168.1.254: icmp_seq=41 ttl=64 time=4.412 ms

Think it got similar results for www.ocado.com.

Hope this helps, nothing has changed. Beginning to get really frustrating now being without proper internet for days! 


Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Certain websites will not load after broadband went down.

That first ping is just checking the the modem/router is responding. There's probably little point in letting the pings run more than 4 results which is what they would stop at on a Windows OS.

I don't know the equivalent of nslookup on a MAC. I'd fire up your Windows machine. It would be interesting to see if you experience the same issue with www.ocado.com on your windows machine.

What Browser and version is it you are using by the way?