cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot load launchpad.net

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,164
Thanks: 478
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Cannot load launchpad.net

Attempting to access http://launchpad.net is just timing out
[tt]traceroute launchpad.net
traceroute to launchpad.net (91.189.89.222), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  6.211 ms  6.691 ms  8.176 ms
2  lo0-central10.ptn-ag04.plus.net (195.166.128.193)  28.741 ms  33.118 ms  36.691 ms
3  84.93.248.244.broadband.plus.dyn.plus.net (84.93.248.244)  30.354 ms  33.633 ms  36.164 ms
4  44.core.plus.net (212.159.1.44)  37.511 ms  38.374 ms  39.333 ms
5  te-4-2.car5.London1.Level3.net (217.163.45.249)  40.234 ms  40.641 ms  42.530 ms
6  ae-2-52.edge4.London1.Level3.net (4.69.139.106)  44.589 ms  39.141 ms  40.574 ms
7  MNET-INTERN.edge4.London1.Level3.net (212.113.14.19Cool  42.485 ms  23.138 ms  25.125 ms
8  * * *
9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
...
[/tt]
http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/launchpad.net says it's up and it loads via a web proxy so I guess I can blame plusnet or Level 3.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

No problem here
Tracing route to launchpad.net [91.189.89.223]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2    37 ms    34 ms    33 ms  lo0-central10.ptw-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.195]
  3    33 ms    36 ms    32 ms  84.93.248.14.broadband.plus.dyn.plus.net [84.93.248.14]
  4    32 ms    32 ms    32 ms  xe-0-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.1.18]
  5    33 ms    32 ms    32 ms  ae1.pcl-cr02.plus.net [195.166.129.3]
  6    33 ms    32 ms    32 ms  ae2.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.6]
  7    32 ms    33 ms    33 ms  xe-11-1-0.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.209]
  8    32 ms    33 ms    33 ms  ae-0-11.edge4.London2.Level3.net [4.69.200.126]
  9    33 ms    33 ms    33 ms  ae-3-3.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.141.189]
10    33 ms    38 ms    33 ms  ae-59-114.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.126]
11    33 ms    40 ms    32 ms  ae-1-51.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.74]
12    33 ms    33 ms    32 ms  MNET-INTERN.edge4.London1.Level3.net [212.113.14.198]
13    33 ms    33 ms    33 ms  eth0.chenet.canonical.com [91.189.88.133]
14    33 ms    33 ms    32 ms  launchpad-net.banana.canonical.com [91.189.89.223]
Trace complete.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,164
Thanks: 478
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

Same problem (for me at least) with http://www.ubuntu.com, not surprisingly.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

Tracing route to launchpad.net [91.189.89.222]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  RTA1335.home [192.168.1.1]
 2    41 ms    51 ms    38 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag03.plus.net [195.166.128.184]
 3    42 ms    40 ms    41 ms  84.93.249.80.broadband.plus.dyn.plus.net [84.93.249.80]
 4    36 ms    39 ms    40 ms  pte-sw4.plus.net [212.159.1.4]
 5    37 ms    40 ms    39 ms  xe-11-2-0.edge3.London2.Level3.net [212.187.201.213]
 6    41 ms    39 ms    39 ms  ae-0-11.edge4.London2.Level3.net [4.69.200.126]
 7    39 ms    39 ms    39 ms  ae-3-3.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.141.189]
 8    38 ms    44 ms    49 ms  ae-59-114.csw1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.153.126]
 9    37 ms    46 ms    37 ms  ae-1-51.edge4.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.74]
10    40 ms    39 ms    36 ms  MNET-INTERN.edge4.London1.Level3.net [212.113.14.198]
11    38 ms    37 ms    40 ms  eth0.chenet.canonical.com [91.189.88.133]
12    43 ms    42 ms    46 ms  launchpad.net [91.189.89.222]
Trace complete.

ejs  ptn-ag04 was the one that seemed to fall over at 0200,  perhaps its still got a problem?
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

Looking deeper into this, you are both on different IP ranged. Ejs, if you reconnect to a none 91 IP address, you will likely operate OK.
Using the Level3 looking glass, Level3 is able to route the data back ok, which was not unexpected given your traces.
http://lookingglass.level3.net/ (you need to use London, not London 2)
Canonical use three peers, including Level3.
http://bgp.he.net/AS41231
Unfortunately I cannot see the other looking glass pages to see what would occur if they were used as a return path.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,164
Thanks: 478
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

I have gateway hopped and managed to get onto pcl-ag08.
launchpad.net is now accessible, although this forum still seems very slow.
NB: It didn't even reconnect the first time, failing with:
[tt]Remote message: address allocation failure, insufficient resources
CHAP authentication failed
Connection terminated.[/tt]
Edit: and I do have a 91.*.*.* IP address now.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,164
Thanks: 478
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

Then I appeared to lose everything except DNS resolutionHuh and had to reconnect again! Not sure if the IP address of everything I tried could have been cached.
I guess the data transfer issues are not fixed!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

Unfortunately not yet, though Bob's posted an update to our service status page - you shouldn't see the issues if you get a fresh connection on there (so the above is a tad worrying) but we'll be reloading it later this afternoon which should sort things out. We'll update with details on that as soon as possible.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,164
Thanks: 478
Fixes: 20
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Cannot load launchpad.net

I guess it was just unlucky going from ptn-ag04 to pcl-ag08.