cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot access a website

MarkG
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 09-07-2015

Cannot access a website

Hello Plusnet Support
I am unable to connect to the website: richieallenshow.com
I have not connected to this website before.
I've contacted the website owners and all is well.  Also, other web tools show that the site is up.
I've reset my router - no change.
All browsers are unable to connect.
I've cleared caches & checked my hosts file and all is well.
I've disabled my COMODO firewall - no change.
Rebooted PC several times - no change.
This is the 3rd day unable to connect.
Please advise.
Thank you.
16 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,499
Thanks: 1,797
Fixes: 221
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Cannot access a website

Welcome to the forums Smiley
Just tried it and I can connect to it fine from directly on a PN connection and over VPN.
what happens if you run a traceroute to it?
Quote
Traceroute is a command which can show you the path a packet of information takes from your computer to one you specify. It will list all the routers it passes through until it reaches its destination, or fails to and is discarded. In addition to this, it will tell you how long each 'hop' from router to router takes.
In Windows, select Start > Programs > Accessories > Command Prompt. This will give you a window like the one below.
Enter the word tracert, followed by a space, then the domain name.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Cannot access a website

Straight in from here as well.
Edit:
tracert richieallenshow.com
Tracing route to richieallenshow.com [212.227.203.255]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1  119 ms    97 ms    96 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    13 ms    13 ms    12 ms  lo0.10.central11.pcl-bng03.plus.net [195.166.130.165]
  3    12 ms    13 ms    13 ms  irb.11.PCL-CR02.plus.net [84.93.249.98]
  4    13 ms    14 ms    13 ms  ae2.pcl-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.6]
  5    13 ms    14 ms    13 ms  ae1.ptw-cr01.plus.net [195.166.129.0]
  6    15 ms    22 ms    22 ms  linx.bb-c.the.lon.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.224.98]
  7    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  ae-0-0.bb-a.ba.slo.gb.oneandone.net [212.227.120.105]
  8    30 ms    34 ms    34 ms  xe-0-1-1.bb-a.fra3.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.22]
  9    33 ms    32 ms    32 ms  xe-0-0-1-0.bb-a.tp.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.173]
10    33 ms    33 ms    33 ms  ae-2.gw-dista-a.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.121.216]
11    35 ms    42 ms    33 ms  vl-999.gw-ps15.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.125.34]
12    84 ms    34 ms    32 ms  customerhosting.co.uk [212.227.203.255]
Trace complete.
MarkG
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 09-07-2015

Re: Cannot access a website

Thank you for the replies.
My tracert results to richieallenshow.com are:

Tracing route to richieallenshow.com [212.227.203.255]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    9 ms    9 ms    9 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190]
  3    9 ms    8 ms    8 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.130]
  4    15 ms    8 ms    8 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.106]
  5    10 ms    9 ms    34 ms  linx.bb-d.ba.slo.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.236.98]
  6    27 ms    26 ms    26 ms  xe-0-1-1.bb-a.fra3.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.22]
  7    29 ms    29 ms    28 ms  xe-0-0-2-0.bb-a.tp.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.177]
  8    29 ms    29 ms    28 ms  ae-2.gw-dista-a.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.121.216]
  9    30 ms    28 ms    29 ms  vl-999.gw-ps15.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.125.34]
10    *        *        *    Request timed out.
11    *        *        *    Request timed out.
12    *        *        *    Request timed out.
13    *        *        *    Request timed out.
14    *        *        *    Request timed out.
15    *        *        *    Request timed out.
16    *        *        *    Request timed out.
17    *        *        *    Request timed out.
18    *        *        *    Request timed out.
19    *        *        *    Request timed out.
20    *        *        *    Request timed out.
21    *        *        *    Request timed out.
22    *        *        *    Request timed out.
23    *        *        *    Request timed out.
24    *        *        *    Request timed out.
25    *        *        *    Request timed out.
26    *        *        *    Request timed out.
27    *        *        *    Request timed out.
28    *        *        *    Request timed out.
29    *        *        *    Request timed out.
30    *        *        *    Request timed out.

Trace complete.

sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Cannot access a website

As an experiment try http://childhealthinternational.org/docs/index.html
That is hosted at one and one in a similar way to richieallenshow.com
It won't solve anything but may help you narrow down the problem.
~~~

Tracing route to childhealthinternational.org [82.165.127.190]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.191]
  3    10 ms    9 ms    9 ms  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.132]
  4    10 ms    9 ms    9 ms  xe-1-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.112]
  5    17 ms    10 ms    10 ms  linx.bb-c.the.lon.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.224.98]
  6    11 ms    10 ms    10 ms  ae-0-0.bb-a.ba.slo.gb.oneandone.net [212.227.120.105]
  7    27 ms    27 ms    27 ms  xe-0-1-1.bb-a.fra3.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.22]
  8    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  xe-0-0-1-0.bb-a.tp.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.173]
  9    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-1.gw-dista-a.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.116.216]
10    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  vl-999.gw-ps7.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.125.8]
11    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  kundenserver.de [82.165.127.190]
Trace complete.
t>tracert richieallenshow.com
Tracing route to richieallenshow.com [212.227.203.255]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.254
  2    10 ms    13 ms    10 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.191]
  3    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  link-b-central10.ptn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.2.134]
  4    10 ms    10 ms    10 ms  xe-1-2-0.ptw-cr02.plus.net [212.159.0.114]
  5    11 ms    10 ms    10 ms  linx.bb-d.ba.slo.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.236.98]
  6    28 ms    27 ms    28 ms  xe-0-1-1.bb-a.fra3.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.22]
  7    30 ms    29 ms    30 ms  xe-0-0-3-0.bb-a.tp.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.181]
  8    31 ms    30 ms    30 ms  ae-1.gw-dista-a.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.116.216]
  9    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  vl-999.gw-ps15.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.125.34]
10    30 ms    30 ms    30 ms  customerhosting.co.uk [212.227.203.255]
Trace complete.
MarkG
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 09-07-2015

Re: Cannot access a website

Thanks.
I can access http://childhealthinternational.org/docs/index.html
Here's the tracert for that URL:

Tracing route to childhealthinternational.org [82.165.127.190]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
  2    9 ms    9 ms    9 ms  lo0-central10.ptn-ag01.plus.net [195.166.128.190]
  3    9 ms    8 ms    8 ms  link-a-central10.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.128]
  4    32 ms    8 ms    8 ms  xe-5-2-0.ptw-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.104]
  5    12 ms    8 ms    15 ms  linx.bb-c.the.lon.gb.oneandone.net [195.66.224.98]
  6    9 ms    9 ms    9 ms  ae-0-0.bb-a.ba.slo.gb.oneandone.net [212.227.120.105]
  7    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  xe-0-1-1.bb-a.fra3.fra.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.22]
  8    28 ms    28 ms    28 ms  xe-0-0-0-0.bb-a.tp.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.120.169]
  9    30 ms    29 ms    29 ms  ae-1.gw-dista-a.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.116.216]
10    29 ms    29 ms    29 ms  vl-999.gw-ps7.bs.kae.de.oneandone.net [212.227.125.8]
11    28 ms    28 ms    29 ms  kundenserver.de [82.165.127.190]

Trace complete.

sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 467
Registered: 01-09-2014

Re: Cannot access a website

It looks as if it is a curious one and one issue.
You could try contacting them, and if they won't talk to non-customers try the website owners again and ask them to contact one and one,
http://help.1and1.co.uk/contact-support-hotline
Good luck
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Cannot access a website

The problem appears to be entirely 1&1's.
You are only missing the final hop to 212.227.203.255
Quote
IP Information  for 212.227.203.255
IP Location Germany Germany Dortmund 1&1 Internet Ag 
ASN Germany AS8560 ONEANDONE-AS 1&1 Internet AG (registered Nov 26, 1997) 
Resolve Host customerhosting.co.uk 
Whois Server whois.ripe.net 
IP Address 212.227.203.255
MarkG
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 09-07-2015

Re: Cannot access a website

Thank you.
I called 1and1 support and was told that the problem must be my ISP.
I've logged a support issue & await their reply.
I can connect using my laptop with wireless or wired LAN to the router and / or via the hub.
So it seems my desktop PC is the issue ?
Other web sites are fine.
I really don't understand what to do next.
Help !
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Cannot access a website

That certainly points to an issue with your PC and nothing to do with Plusnet or 1&1
Assuming it's a Windows PC, try rebooting it in Safe Mode with Networking and trying again?
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Cannot access a website

Weird. Firewall on the PC?
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: Cannot access a website

What OS are you running on desktop PC?
I think the issue is due to the last octet of the address being .255 - Windows XP and earlier (incorrectly) assume this to be an illegal address as it would be a Class C broadcast address.  They fixed it in later versions of Windows.
See https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/281579
MarkG
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 09-07-2015

Re: Cannot access a website

Many thanks for your help folks, much appreciated.
The laptop is Vista and that's fine.
The desktop which cannot connect, with any browser, is Win XP SP3
I've just done a virus scan and all is well.
Safe Mode with networking is no different.
COMODO firewall / AV running or not / on or off makes no difference.
You think it might be the last 255 in customerhosting.co.uk [212.227.203.255] ?
As per the above support article ?
If so then we're doomed captain.
How bizarre ...
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Cannot access a website

Have you ever reached it using that PC?
[me=Estragon]consults wikihistory.com for "XP".  Cheesy[/me]
MarkG
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 09-07-2015

Re: Cannot access a website

No, the first time I tried was this week and that's when I noticed the issue.
So anyone on Win XP will be having the same problem I suppose ?