cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

paulo
Grafter
Posts: 157
Registered: 02-01-2008

Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

My brother (recently out of the Dark Ages) has just had his first ever broadband put live by Plusnet.  He only has a iPad 3 available, is it possible to set up the new BB useing the iPad?
I can resist everything except temptation.
6 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,641
Thanks: 733
Fixes: 52
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

The routers supplied by PN are self configuring. Just plug it in and it will setup the BB automatically. Your brother will obviously need to configure the iPAD for a wireless connection to the router, the default password for which is supplied on a card with the router ( and on the base of the router ). If the defaults are acceptable then no further configuration is needed. Further configuration COULD be done wirelessly from the iPad but obviously changing wireless parameters is NOT a good idea from a wireless connection!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

I believe there's a 'QR' code card supplied with these routers - I would assume that an iPad can read the QR code which should then set the wireless settings on the iPad to connect to the router (I don't have a TG582n or an iPad so I don't know for sure if this works).
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

Hi paulo,
Our routers are designed to automatically connect to the internet, if for any reason it hasn't you should be able to connect via the routers interface(192.168.1.254) once you've established a wireless connection from your iPad to your router.
You can see the setting that are required for your router here.
paulo
Grafter
Posts: 157
Registered: 02-01-2008

Re: Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

Many thanks for your help MisterW,  w23 and chrispurvey, will let you know how it turns out.
I can resist everything except temptation.
paulo
Grafter
Posts: 157
Registered: 02-01-2008

Re: Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

Connection to the router was very simple and straightforward via the iPad 3.  Thanks Plusnet. Smiley
I can resist everything except temptation.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Can you set up a new (Plusnet) router useing an iPad.

Glad we could help Smiley
If there's anything else give us a nudge.