cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't view particular site

cripes
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-05-2017

Can't view particular site

Hi folks

 

We have a problem accessing certain sites, and we're getting, in one case, the default CentOS Apache 2 Test page, or a 403 Forbidden error when accessing other links on the site. The site is www.abbeymachinery.com. 

 

We have a Netgear DG834G router/modem and the Abbey site is inaccessible from any machine on the network. We can view it on the same laptop on a BT connection next door. We have tried turning off firewalls and anti virus software but no joy.

 

We have also tried using Google DNS or OpenDNS, but no luck either.

 

Any ideas or suggestions welcome!

7 REPLIES
agedgopher
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 159
Thanks: 74
Fixes: 1
Registered: 02-12-2016

Re: Can't view particular site

The link works fine for me using Plusnet fibre and Google Chrome.

cripes
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-05-2017

Re: Can't view particular site

Thanks for testing it out on your connection - wonder whether there's a configuration/network difference between fibre and  our creaky adsl connection?

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,784
Thanks: 1,057
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Can't view particular site

Have you tried a trace route @cripes?

cripes
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-05-2017

Re: Can't view particular site

I can ping the site no problem, it's just that the site doesn't display.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Can't view particular site

What does a traceroute look like?

traceroute  www.abbeymachinery.com
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
cripes
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 06-05-2017

Re: Can't view particular site

Connection is on separate business premises so can't traceroute right now, I only ping via router interface remotely.

The ping returns the correct ip address of the server without delay.

Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 304
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 2
Registered: 28-07-2013

Re: Can't view particular site

No problem in opening website here. I'm on standard BB using the Hub 0 router (2704n one).