cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't upload ANYTHING

stuarteaster
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2012

Can't upload ANYTHING

Hi - I have been having serious problems in the last couple of days with uploading even the most miniscule files. Everything I'm trying has only really been less than 200KB. This has included trying to upload images to ebay which are failing. Here are some stats (that I don't understand):

Uptime: 15 days, 16:01:12
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,068 / 6,400
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 6,272
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/GB]: 0.00 / 3.20
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 20.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 17.5 / 29.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 24.0 / 6.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 131,073 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 196,612 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 7 / 218,179,325
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 10 / 1,070
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 8 / NA

Download speedachieved during the test was - 3510 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 600-7150 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :6272 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 5500 Kbps
Please can you help?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Do you connect to your router wired or wireless? If wireless can you try uploading with a wired connection?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
stuarteaster
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2012

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Quote from: jelv
Do you connect to your router wired or wireless? If wireless can you try uploading with a wired connection?

Hi Jelv, thanks for replying. I do connect by wireless but cannot plug in as my laptop does not have an ethernet port.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Hi,
The most important thing from those stats is
Quote
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:  448 / 6,272
that and line test I've just performed show that your line is connecting at good speeds both up and down and the connection is quite stable (has been up over 11 days in fact).
As jelv mentioned let us know if you've tried this via wired as wifi problems/incompatibilities  can sometimes restrict upload speeds. What else has been a problem for you apart from Ebay?
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
stuarteaster
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2012

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Hi Adam,
Thanks. I have also been having problems uploading to a remote server, both through online uploader and FTP via FileZilla, which gives timeout errors after about 10-20kb of the file has transferred. Is there any way to diagnose problems with the wifi without plugging in as I do not have an ethernet port?
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Can you run a speed test at http://www.speedtest.net/wave/ef680776cf64ec88 please.
Is your router one supplied by Plusnet? If so does the label underneath say it is a V8 or a V7?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
stuarteaster
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2012

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

84ms Ping
5.16Mbps D/L
0.03Mbps U/L
Thomson router from Plusnet - V8.
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

You are another victim of the known bug with the V8 routers. You need to ask Plusnet to replace it with a V7.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Quote
You need to ask Plusnet to replace it with a V7.

We've got some in stock here in the office, just bagging one up now for you @stuarteaster
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
stuarteaster
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2012

Re: Can't upload ANYTHING

Cheers guys! superb speed and customer service. Eagerly awaiting delivery.