cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't open any ports - Help

arrowst
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 10-08-2007

Can't open any ports - Help

Hi all,
Not sure what's going on, but I can't seem to open any ports on my connection (I've managed to do it before, but not recently).
I'm using my laptop with Vista, and a D834g v2 router.
I've followed the guides on portforward.com, created the exceptions in both my vista and router firewall, created a static IP and it still won't work.  I've also tried fiddling with all sorts of other settings (DHCP, UNP etc..) with no luck  Sad
I've raised a ticket, but thought it might be quicker to post here as well.  Any suggestions??  Thanks
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can't open any ports - Help

What product are you on?
What exactly are you trying to do? i.e. are you trying to set-up a web server on your PC or allow FTP access?
Have you tried disabling the PN broadband firewall - on the portal under connection settings - and then rebooting your router.
arrowst
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 10-08-2007

Re: Can't open any ports - Help

Thanks for responding
I'm on Pay as you Go.  I'm trying to unblock ports for gaming purposes.  I had previously unblocked them for utorrent purposes, but that doesn't seem to be working now either (haven't used it in ages).
I disable the PN firewall when it first came out, and I've checked it's still disabled.
sloany
Grafter
Posts: 153
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Can't open any ports - Help

are you trying to open ports on the router?
if so this might help
http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/N101145.asp#FR114PAnchor
arrowst
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 10-08-2007

Re: Can't open any ports - Help

Quote from: sloany
are you trying to open ports on the router?
if so this might help
http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/N101145.asp#FR114PAnchor

Yes, I've done that as per the instructions (the same instructions are on portforward.com).  I'm not sure what is still blocking the ports.
sloany
Grafter
Posts: 153
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Can't open any ports - Help

What Antivirus are you using? does it include a firewall?
arrowst
Dabbler
Posts: 22
Registered: 10-08-2007

Re: Can't open any ports - Help

AVG.  I don't think so, but I've tried quitting it, and still no luck.