cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't open Youtube...

Azagoth
Grafter
Posts: 618
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Can't open Youtube...

...it's hanging on "Connecting to s.ytimg.com" and failing to load.  It was perfectly fine a few hours ago.  Anyone else experiencing this?  
Target Name: www.youtube.com
        IP: 74.125.230.128
 Date/Time: 28/05/2011 22:45:38
1    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms  [192.168.1.1]
2   25 ms   99 ms   29 ms   25 ms   25 ms  lo0-homesurf.pcl-ag04.plus.net [195.166.128.135]
3  429 ms   24 ms   23 ms   34 ms   23 ms  gi1-10-606.pcl-gw01.plus.net [84.92.0.236]
4  497 ms   24 ms   27 ms   24 ms   23 ms  po5.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.1.131]
5  633 ms   23 ms   24 ms   23 ms   24 ms  [72.14.223.32]
6  606 ms   24 ms   32 ms   24 ms   23 ms  [66.249.94.78]
7  646 ms   24 ms   24 ms   24 ms   23 ms  [209.85.251.202]
8  676 ms   24 ms   24 ms   25 ms   24 ms  [74.125.230.128]

The internet connection is fine and no other sites are experiencing a problem.
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

Not from here.
Try disconnecting ad reconnecting using the router interface (not disconnecting from the exchange but only from Plusnet) as this could move you to a different gateway
Azagoth
Grafter
Posts: 618
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

On pcl-ag02 now, no luck  Still getting the same thing. The trace route is better, but it's still hanging on s.ytimg.com.
Target Name: www.youtube.com
        IP: 74.125.230.143
  Date/Time: 28/05/2011 23:06:02
1    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms  [192.168.1.1]
2  23 ms  21 ms  22 ms  21 ms  22 ms  lo0-homesurf.pcl-ag02.plus.net [195.166.128.40]
3  22 ms  21 ms  21 ms  21 ms  22 ms  gi1-13-906.pcl-gw01.plus.net [84.92.0.148]
4  22 ms  21 ms  21 ms  21 ms  21 ms  po5.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.1.131]
5  68 ms  22 ms  22 ms  33 ms  22 ms  [72.14.223.32]
6  21 ms  22 ms  22 ms  21 ms  26 ms  [66.249.94.78]
7  22 ms  22 ms  24 ms  21 ms  24 ms  [209.85.251.202]
8  22 ms  21 ms  22 ms  21 ms  21 ms  [74.125.230.143]
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

Then try rebooting the router.
Azagoth
Grafter
Posts: 618
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

I have done, and I still can't open the site today.  Getting the same thing, hanging on 'Connecting to s.ytimg.com' and I'm on yet another gateway (pcl-ag0Cool today.  
Target Name: www.youtube.com
        IP: 74.125.230.130
 Date/Time: 29/05/2011 15:40:01
1    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms    0 ms  [192.168.1.1]
2   21 ms   23 ms   22 ms   22 ms   22 ms  lo0-homesurf.pcl-ag08.plus.net [195.166.130.66]
3   22 ms   21 ms   21 ms   22 ms   21 ms  gi7-12-956.pcl-gw02.plus.net [84.93.255.5]
4   22 ms   20 ms   22 ms   22 ms   41 ms  po4.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.1.128]
5   21 ms   21 ms   21 ms   21 ms   22 ms  po5.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.1.131]
6   21 ms   22 ms   21 ms   21 ms   21 ms  [72.14.223.32]
7   21 ms   22 ms   21 ms   22 ms   21 ms  [66.249.94.78]
8   23 ms   21 ms   22 ms   23 ms   22 ms  [209.85.251.202]
9   22 ms   21 ms   22 ms   22 ms   22 ms  [74.125.230.130]

I get a Youtube that looks like this -

A trace route to s.ytimg.com gives this -
C:\Program Files\Support Tools>tracert s.ytimg.com
Tracing route to static.cache.l.google.com [74.125.162.39]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
 2    25 ms    23 ms    25 ms  lo0-homesurf.pcl-ag08.plus.net [195.166.130.66]
 3    22 ms    22 ms    23 ms  gi7-12-956.pcl-gw02.plus.net [84.93.255.5]
 4    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  po5.thn-gw02.plus.net [212.159.1.133]
 5    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  po4.thn-gw1.plus.net [212.159.1.134]
 6    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  po6.ptn-gw01.plus.net [212.159.1.137]
 7    22 ms    21 ms    86 ms  72.14.223.32
 8    23 ms    22 ms    22 ms  66.249.94.76
 9    29 ms    28 ms    28 ms  72.14.232.134
10     *        *        *     Request timed out.
11     *        *        *     Request timed out.
12     *        *        *     Request timed out.
13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
30     *        *        *     Request timed out.
Trace complete.
Azagoth
Grafter
Posts: 618
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

OK, I want this sorted out.  It's also stopping sites that embed YouTube videos from functioning properly.  It was working perfectly fine up until yesterday when all this started.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,169
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

Have you tried a different browser/PC/rebooted the PC? It's working fine for me and I can't see anything on the network that would cause it.
My trace picks a different mirror and responds, but I get the same as you if I trace to the same IP.

Mace2:~ Dave$ traceroute s.ytimg.com
traceroute: Warning: s.ytimg.com has multiple addresses; using 74.125.39.101
traceroute to ytstatic.l.google.com (74.125.39.101), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  9.320 ms  9.913 ms  9.806 ms
2  lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag01.plus.net (195.166.128.123)  39.950 ms  59.676 ms  35.727 ms
3  gi2-6-603.ptn-gw01.plus.net (84.92.3.9)  35.710 ms  39.118 ms  41.217 ms
4  72.14.223.32 (72.14.223.32)  39.124 ms  41.060 ms  31.724 ms
5  66.249.94.78 (66.249.94.7Cool  49.978 ms 66.249.94.76 (66.249.94.76)  39.611 ms  39.775 ms
6  209.85.248.80 (209.85.248.80)  40.183 ms  49.681 ms 72.14.233.63 (72.14.233.63)  39.964 ms
7  209.85.248.183 (209.85.248.183)  53.246 ms  58.866 ms  60.023 ms
8  209.85.254.118 (209.85.254.11Cool  59.881 ms 209.85.254.114 (209.85.254.114)  51.835 ms  57.418 ms
9  209.85.249.162 (209.85.249.162)  60.132 ms 209.85.249.166 (209.85.249.166)  48.260 ms *
10  fx-in-f101.1e100.net (74.125.39.101)  59.437 ms  53.782 ms  45.392 ms
Mace2:~ Dave$

Mace2:~ Dave$ traceroute 74.125.162.39
traceroute to 74.125.162.39 (74.125.162.39), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
1  192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1)  2.252 ms  9.783 ms  9.795 ms
2  lo0-plusnet.ptn-ag01.plus.net (195.166.128.123)  39.356 ms  36.674 ms  43.306 ms
3  gi2-6-603.ptn-gw01.plus.net (84.92.3.9)  39.922 ms  39.582 ms  39.865 ms
4  72.14.223.32 (72.14.223.32)  40.731 ms  38.123 ms  66.865 ms
5  66.249.94.78 (66.249.94.7Cool  33.703 ms 66.249.94.76 (66.249.94.76)  36.981 ms  32.306 ms
6  72.14.232.134 (72.14.232.134)  48.317 ms  50.940 ms  48.425 ms
7  * * *
^C

Going to http://74.125.162.39 also doesn't respond with a page but http://74.125.39.101 returns with Google.
The mirror you're hitting also isn't returned from DNS now:
Mace2:~ Dave$ host s.ytimg.com
s.ytimg.com is an alias for ytstatic.l.google.com.
ytstatic.l.google.com has address 74.125.39.138
ytstatic.l.google.com has address 74.125.39.100
ytstatic.l.google.com has address 74.125.39.101
ytstatic.l.google.com has address 74.125.39.102
ytstatic.l.google.com has address 74.125.39.113
ytstatic.l.google.com has address 74.125.39.139
ytstatic.l.google.com has IPv6 address 2a00:1450:8007::71
I wonder if the mirror you're hitting has been taken out of service for some reason but the DNS record is still cached on your PC. Might just need to do an ipconfig /flushdns from the command prompt to fix it.
Azagoth
Grafter
Posts: 618
Thanks: 3
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Can't open Youtube...

OK, this is weird.  I did a ipconfig /flushdns after you suggested it and nothing changed, the site was still acting in the exact same way.  I've just come back in from driving my girlfriend to the airport and it's now working fine, even though I'm still on the same gateway as before and nothing has changed since I left the house.
Weird!