cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't connect

thehatman
Grafter
Posts: 574
Registered: 01-08-2007

Can't connect

Can't connect (computer at other end fails to respond) broadband from about half an hour ago. Writing this via old dialup.
Something for PN to look at?
22 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,572
Thanks: 1,102
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Can't connect

Have you given them a call? 0114-296-5198
Will Moderate For Thanks
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

Authentication issues (56570) - NEW
ADSL Dial
Posted on: Monday 18 May 2009, 07:50
We are currently receiving a larger than normal number of calls from customers having issues connecting to the internet.
We are currently investigation this further with our suppliers and will update you as soon as we have any further information.
justal
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 18-05-2009

Re: Can't connect

Any news on this yet? I've been unable to connect for 11 hours now.
Thanks,
Al.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Can't connect

We're seeing this problem on some of our test lines and by checking our network, we're not seeing anything on our network that would be causing this problem.
We're currently investigating with BT and will update Service Status once we have further information.
It's more than likely that BT have a SVBMSO (Super Very Big Major Service Outage) that they haven't reported yet.
I'm sorry for the disruption to your service and hopefully it'll be back up and running as soon as possible.
Beetroot_Bertie
Grafter
Posts: 80
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

Good morning to fellow dial up users - same applies to me too. Turned on the computer this morning about 9.20 ish and can't connect. Router seems unable get the LCP to connect. I've tried 2 different routers and same thing, no connection.
I had a connection last night probably about 10pm-ish but I turned the machine off then so don't know when it possibly went wrong.
I hope this will get sorted soon as I'm working from home Sad
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Can't connect

Hi guys,
We're currently looking at the possibility that one of our line cards may be faulty (on PCL-AG04).
We've updated the "priority problem" and will be updating Service Status shortly.
MrC
Grafter
Posts: 523
Thanks: 2
Registered: 17-07-2008

Re: Can't connect

Looks like things are back up again here at 11:34 (service been down all am).
Mike
Beetroot_Bertie
Grafter
Posts: 80
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

Just checked mine at 11.40 and all seems to working again now for me too  Cheesy
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Can't connect

Great, thanks for letting us know.
You might have seen the planned mainternance alert we just put out.  Hopefully this has fixed the problem.
mapletree
Grafter
Posts: 644
Registered: 28-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

I did think that if there was a gateway problem then rebooting routers would help.  Can you explain why this did not work today?
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

were you on one of these exchanges
Quote
We now believe the problem to be fully fixed. Please note that there was also a BT service outage between 10.00am this morning and 2.30pm this afternoon that affected the following area codes (this is now fixed).
0203113 0208537 0208907 0208909 0208930
0208933 0208537 0208907 0208909
mapletree
Grafter
Posts: 644
Registered: 28-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

No.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Can't connect

Hi mapletree,
that's essentially what we did do, and what resolved the problem this morning. Have you had connection issues this afternoon?
weirddave
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 06-04-2008

Re: Can't connect

So, exactly what was the issue and why did it take 11 hours to fix?