cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

mgrammatica
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎26-02-2014

Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

It seems im having quite a choppy experience online the last few days and if i check the broadband status it says there is maintenance going on but not in London.
But is it possible that i connect through some of the maintenance areas and my line is also being affected ?
Many thanks in advance !
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

That is unlikely to be the cause
If you can post the information requested here we may be able to help http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

Hi mgrammatica,
Unfortunately you won't be able to post up what Oldjim has requested as you're on Fibre.
I've taken a look at your line and I've been able to identify any issues with your line. Here's your connection graph:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14005723374086.png"/>
I'm not sure what caused the disconnects but the line seems to have stabilised. Your line hasn't been restricted or anything of the sort so you're quite lucky. It is possible that you can get disconnected when there is maintenance, but it's unlikely to cause multiple drop outs at the time in which it affected you.
Please keep an eye on things and if you notice any further drops, please let us know.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

Actually - other than router stats - all the rest is valid and would be helpful
The link I included specifically says that the router stats aren't available on fibre
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

Those details can be supplied of course, but the line isn't restricted due to any banding placed on the line and all profiles are correctly aligned.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
mgrammatica
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎26-02-2014

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

Quote from: Chris
Hi mgrammatica,
Unfortunately you won't be able to post up what Oldjim has requested as you're on Fibre.
I've taken a look at your line and I've been able to identify any issues with your line. Here's your connection graph:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14005723374086.png"/>
I'm not sure what caused the disconnects but the line seems to have stabilised. Your line hasn't been restricted or anything of the sort so you're quite lucky. It is possible that you can get disconnected when there is maintenance, but it's unlikely to cause multiple drop outs at the time in which it affected you.
Please keep an eye on things and if you notice any further drops, please let us know.

Thank you very much Chris.  Im just curious, would your measuring tools pickup on my router (not bt modem) being rebooted ? If so that may explain the dropouts, although i can't say for certain if i rebooted at those times.
Anyway, i am still experiencing a choppy experience online, whether its waiting for pages to load or mainly choppy/laggy gaming. Prior to this change everything was running smoothly for the longest time. It may just be co-incidence that it changed for the worse around the time of maintenance.  I may try pingplotter to see if i have packet loss anywhere.
Thanks again.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

Our system would detect them, yes (in most cases).
If you continue to have a choppy experience, can you raise a fault at http://faults.plus.net so we can take a look over things for you?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
mgrammatica
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎26-02-2014

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

Ok i will do that thank you Chris.
Also im not sure if this matters but rebooting my router at any time doesn't reduce my bandwidth like rebooting the modem does. I was told by a phone tech that i was safe to reboot my router but not the modem. Although recently even rebooting the modem doesn't seem to reduce my bandwidth. Fwiw.
Thanks again.
dick:quote
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Can broadband maintenance affect areas not being worked on ?

That's right, restarting your router is fine, but your modem being rebooted could cause DLM to take action.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer