cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

ivesy
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 08-01-2012

Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

Hi I'm wanting to try the US version of Netflix and wondered how you go about changing the DNS settings on the router? A simple step by step would be appreciated! Thanks
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,542
Thanks: 786
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

Why not add entries to the PCs host file to override the DNS for the particular host addresses?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ivesy
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 08-01-2012

Re: Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

JEEEESUS!!!! 
Yes that's my router allright! I thought it would be just[i a matter of logging into the router and adding the DNS settings!
Not sure I'm confident enough to do that but thanks for the reply I appreciate it  Wink
Jelv
Would you explain your suggestion please?  I have Netflix on my Roku 2XS  it's wired direct to the router and this DNS thing is what I need to do....
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,542
Thanks: 786
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

Ah! I had to look to see what a Roku 2XS was - I'd be surprised if you could do it on that. I was assuming you'd be on a PC of some sort.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
SE
Rising Star
Posts: 72
Thanks: 1
Fixes: 1
Registered: 19-08-2013

Re: Can anyone helpme change my DNS settings on the router?

Quote from: ivesy
Hi I'm wanting to try the US version of Netflix and wondered how you go about changing the DNS settings on the router? A simple step by step would be appreciated! Thanks

What are you using to watch nf? (just seen its a roku, if there is a option to change the dns in the options, just do that)
on a wd tv box for example just change the dns in options
if your using a pc or smarter tv box that runs android (MINIX NEO X7 is the best tv box out there as it will do everything a tv box and pc, phone can do ) get a vpn or go in to windows network connections, internet protocol v 4 ipv4 and fill out the " use the following dns server"
that's all you need to do
just remember to put the dns back when your done
there are loads of free dns's out there for the usa to allow nf and hulu
or you can pay for a dns and or a vpn for £20-£30 py