cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

barrielay
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 25-02-2012

Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

I use a wired ethernet link for a laptop in a room out of range of my wireless network. I would like to use the ethernet link for  a wireless access point in this room and I have a spare TG585v8.
Can I use this as my access point?
16 REPLIES
barrielay
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 25-02-2012

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

I thought that as noone was going to spoonfeed me, I should think about it.  Seems to work quite well
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Should work VERY Well just run through this list
on 585v8
1) change ip address (default 192.168.1.254) to192.168.1.253
2) disable DHCP
3)on original router ensure DHCP range does not include  the IP address you gave your 585v8 (192.168.1.253)
4)Use different SSids and channels
Ian
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Hi and sorry to jump on the thread but I have recently changed my router to a netgear so I have the PN TG585 spare and using it as an access point interests me as my current router is downstairs plugged into the main BT socket. I have ethernet cabling thought-out the house so my wired devices are fine but in certain parts of the house upstairs it’s a low wireless signal and was thinking could I plug the 585 router into the Ethernet cable port in my sons room where the wireless signal is at it’s lowest and just that at boost the signal and if this is possible would I be able to use the ports on the back of the router for his playstation, laptop etc or would that have to connect wireless?
Would I just follow these steps?
on 585v8
1) change ip address (default 192.168.1.254) to192.168.1.253
2) disable DHCP
3)on original router ensure DHCP range does not include  the IP address you gave your 585v8 (192.168.1.253)
4)Use different SSids and channels
If so on step 3 the range in my Netgear ends .254 so would I have to change the IP address on the 585 to 192.168.1.255
prichardson
Grafter
Posts: 1,503
Thanks: 1
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Can I just ask, is there any reason you are specifically recommending using a different SSID?
A different channel is certainly a must as there will certainly be some overlap between the APs, but I always use the same SSID, security method and WPA-PSK.
This has allowed seamless roaming around my property, but wondering if I am missing something here by using the same SSID.
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Quote
192.168.1.255

That is not available, Sad  You must change the DHCP range on the netgear what does this range start at , you might be able to use an IP address at the lower end (192.168.1.2)
Quote
would I be able to use the ports on the back of the router for his playstation, laptop etc

Yes you will be able to use the ethernet ports no problem.
Quote
I always use the same SSID, security method and WPA-PSK.

I have always used different SSID's so i know what access point i am connected to, my primary AP covers 90% of the house and the secondary one has rather poor wireless coverage. (Note to self :  change it for a AP with better wireless power)
Glad to be of assistance
Ian
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Thanks Ian, wouldnt the netgear give the thompson router an ip, if not how do i change it from 192.168.1.254 to what it needs to be?
ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

daskinner, No it would not give an IP adress to the thomson.
To set an ip address on the thomson you need to either connect wirelessly or with a wire to your computer.
Login to the thomson with the username and password (defaults user:admin password:may be the serial number of router)
then change the IP address (sorry i dont know the page that is on)
also you will be logged out of the router when you do this.
Log back in (using the new ip address)
disable DHCP (may  be on the same page as changing the IP address)
you are then halfway there
Ian
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Thanks Ian, I think I follow...  just one last question.
reading your how to guide I need to change the Thompson router IP from 192.168.1.254 to 192.168.1.253 you also put I need to make sure that in the original router the DHCP range does not include the IP address you gave your 585v8 (192.168.1.253) looking at my Netgear DHCP settings the range currently are 192.168.0.2 – 192.168.0.254 so am I right in thinking I won’t need to change this as 192.168.1.254 doesn’t fall within the range?
Infinity
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,132
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 3
Registered: 19-06-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Quote from: barrielay
I use a wired ethernet link for a laptop in a room out of range of my wireless network. I would like to use the ethernet link for  a wireless access point in this room and I have a spare TG585v8.
Can I use this as my access point?

Possibly not relevant, but my two built in Airport, Wi-Fi enabled iMacs, see each other automatically, and can exchange files, folders etc, without going through the router.
They see each other as being part of a LAN.
Just replaced an ageing iMac with a new one, and found this useful.
They can both access the internet  via Wi-Fi and my single TG585v8 router at the same time.
I could also, if I wanted, access the Internet from one iMac though the other one.


ian007jen
Rising Star
Posts: 392
Thanks: 4
Fixes: 2
Registered: 06-09-2007

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Quote
Netgear DHCP settings the range currently are 192.168.0.2 – 192.168.0.254

Well done for spotting that; it changes things drastically
Netger IP addresss is 192.168.0.1
change thomson to 192.168.0.2
change DHCP range (on netgear) to 192.168.0.3 to 192.168.0.254

You could make the DHCP range smaller again so you can add more static IP addressed routers, computers or printers.

IAn
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Cheers Ian, I'll have a go when I get home and let you know how I get on.
thanks for your help.
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Can anyone tell me how to disable DHCP and change the IP address on the TG585v8. I've looked in the router config but cant see the options for either?
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Ive found out how to disable DHCP and ip address
1- open the router interface
2- choose home network
3- choose interfaces
4- select local network
5- config / disable DHCP
6- add new ip address
daskinner
Grafter
Posts: 209
Registered: 15-12-2011

Re: Can I use TG585 as a wireless access point?

Hi, ive got this working just one small problem. I have given certain hardware ie my sons laptop and pc there own ip address via the main netgear router however he is now connected to the 585 which is in his room at the other side of the house but the 585 seems to give his hardware new ips which is stoping me from being able to switch his internet off at certain times. In the netgear i could set up the firewall to block any access after bed time monday -  friday but now he is getting new ip numbers the firewall isnt blocking him. Ive tried to just block the 585 router ip as he connected via it but that doesnt seem to work and ive also tried switching the firewall in the 585 to block all but it doesnt work. Any ideas how i can set this firewall backup?