cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I have a static IP address?

jwm
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎30-05-2012

Can I have a static IP address?

Are PlusNet able to let me have a static/fixed IP address?
If so, how much does it cost and how do I get one!?
I'm no technical expert but it's part of setting up my CCTV camera which is connected to my router and I want to be able to look at my CCTV from the internet - I understand this is easier if your IP address doesn't keep changing.
8 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,330
Thanks: 2,181
Fixes: 355
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

it's available on certain accounts for a one off fee of £5
Quote
Adding or removing a Static IP
If you'd like to add or remove a Static IP please raise a Ticket or call our Support Team on 0800 432 0200 or 0345 140 0200

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

I added a static IP to mine through the member centre - it was one of the options on the account.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19,330
Thanks: 2,181
Fixes: 355
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

i think that has since gone, I copied that from my static ip page in the member centre Wink

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Marksfish
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

The option to add a static ip to your account is available to action in the member centre, I have just done it (accidentally). It is under the Add ons tab and you click on apply now. BE CAREFUL though as there is no confirmation, once clicked, you have committed to a static ip which I think is wrong.
CS. Can this static ip be removed from my account please with no charge? I think it is wrong that one click commits you with no option to opt out of the transaction.
Thanks
Mark
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 19
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

Ahh right - I did mine a couple of years ago - how time flies ......
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

@Marksfish  For accountability, can you please log that on the account for me? I can then get it done straight away.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

Actually, I see you've already been in touch. We'll get it sorted for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team
Marksfish
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 474
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2014

Re: Can I have a static IP address?

Yes I had Tony, didn't want to clog the thread up. Thanks  Smiley