cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

davehewitson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 22-02-2008

Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Hi, I have a TG585 v7 with WPA encryption, all working fine.
What I would like to do is to be able to create another temporary wifi network using WEP because that is all my kids Nintendo DSi can connect with, but I want to leave my existing wifi network alone.  I only need the WEP wifi connection sometimes, I know it's not secure, but it'll only be up for a few hours.
Is it possible, I think I'll need extra hardware ?
Thanks for any help.
dave
15 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Yep, that's possible but you will need another wireless device.
Do you have any older routers lying around?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

As above - use an old router, hook one of the LAN ports to your existing routers LAN port, set your WEP password and off you go.
Don't hook the new routers WAN port to your existing routers LAN port or you'll probably end up double NATing which isn't ideal (unless you want to do that for extra security)
davehewitson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 22-02-2008

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Hi AndyH,
yes I do have another of the same model wireless router.
How do I connect them up though, they have 4 ethernet ports each but aren't they just outward ?
Is it as simple as connecting the the main router using one of the 4 ports, to the DSI  port on my second router ?
Was also thinking, won't they have the same admin address, I don't have a direct (wired) connection to either, how would I connect to the right one ?
cheers
dave
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,380
Thanks: 4
Registered: 18-01-2013

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Setup your second router first with the WEP encryption and a password. Maybe worth setting its own IP to something different to your main one (i.e. one not currently in use).
Turn off any DHCP as well - that could confuse things in the future.
Hook up the two routers via their LAN ports.
(I think I've got that about right !)
davehewitson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 22-02-2008

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

When you say hook them up using their LAN ports, the routers only have 5 ports, one for DSL in, and 4 normal ethernet ports which I assume are for connecting other networked devices.
Maybe I'm being daft, but am I able to connect the 2 routers each using one of the 4 ethernet ports available, surely they don't accept input ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Connect one LAN port on one router to another LAN port on the other router - (LAN = Ethernet port)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

This may help explain things:
http://npr.me.uk/together.html
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Before going down the 2 router path I believe the TG585 can be set up with virtual ssids, up to 4. Not sure whether this can been done via the GUI or CLI
davehewitson
Newbie
Posts: 6
Registered: 22-02-2008

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Perfect - thank you very much
dave
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Quote from: itsme
I believe the TG585 can be set up with virtual ssids, up to 4.

No, unlike the TG582n the TG585v7 doesn't support multiple SSID's
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

[quote=http://www.technicolorbroadbandpartner.com/getfile.php?id=7275]Wi-Fi IEEE 802.11b/g access point
Wi-Fi CERTIFIED®
WPATM-Personal / WPA2TM-Personal , WEPTM
Wi-Fi Multimedia (WMM®)
Wi-Fi Protected Setup (WPSTM)
Up to 4 virtual SSID APs support
Security and service segregation per SSID
Dynamic rates switching for optimal wireless rates
Manual/auto radio channel support
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Thanks, that's interesting it was never supported by the O2 supplied TG575 v7 I had. Perhaps it's a firmware version thing.
If anyone wishes to test this the telnet commands to create multiple SSID can be found here Wink
http://npr.me.uk/mssid.html
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 1
Registered: 07-04-2007

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

A word of warning when i used a virtual ssid a few years ago some devices did not see them only the main ssid. Probably not an issue any more as things move on and the majority of hotspots, BTFON et al, use virtual ssid's.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,286
Thanks: 1,392
Fixes: 70
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Can I Create 2 Wifi Networks ?

Quote from: davehewitson
surely they don't accept input ?

Ethernet ports are bi-directional, in other words they are input and output.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine