cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

As the title asks. Buy a new all-in-one or keep what plusnet supply, turn off it's own router and connect a decent dedicated router to it?

Scenario: I get about one internet drop every four days. PlusNet tested the line and they found no errors. An engineer came only a few months ago and gave the line a clean bill of health. PlusNet support therefore concluded that the drops are because of 'high usage' and the modem will reset itself. Everything piled onto the internet at once, there's probably 8 wireless device on and a wired device + ethernet switcher.

I'm assuming that 'high usage' is taxing the routing capability of the Hub One, rather than it's ability to just act as a 'pipe' for the ASDL signal?

Anyway. Advice appreciated for products in whichever approach is best. Looking at £60-80 something that will stop the drops, have a higher level of configurability, and maybe squeeze out a bit more performance over the 10Mbps we're getting.

Thanks

16 REPLIES 16
bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 1,098
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

@eBread 

Have you checked to see what's available to you speed wise. You've posted on the ADSL Board and with the speed quoted this seems reasonable. However, faster speeds may or may not be available. Put your phone number in the following

https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

 

If VDSL or WBC FTTP appear in the left column and "Available" to the right then faster speeds can be had. If VDSL and you upgrade then you'll get a SmartHub 2 (basically the BT SmartHub 2 with some minor modifications).

 

Brian

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,199
Thanks: 9,719
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

Reset and start again.

A modem (the bit that handles the line) does not drop the line because there’s a few devices connected to the router.

Separating router functions from modem functions is unlikely to deliver any benefits until the problem is understood better.

“Too many” WiFi devices might be an issue for the 2704n WAP in the router (hub zero) but that is not going to cause the ADSL session to drop. Besides which you are using the Hub One which is some what better.

Problem needs better definition (clearer articulation). Sight of the router stats would be helpful. A drop every four days is nothing to worry about - when does it happen?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

Thanks Brian

I'm not having an issue with the speed, it's pretty good for our area. It's more to see if can get 100% uptime (although the other replier suggests this is not possible).

Observed Speeds ADSL
Max Observed Downstream Speed 13.44
Max Observed Upstream Speed 0.89
Observed Date 2021-11-09

 

Using the link you supplied, as I expected (from already having spoken to PlusNet and other ISP in the past) regular ADSL is looking like the best we can hope for.

  • The exchange is not in a current fibre priority programme
  • WLR is currently available at the exchange
  • SOADSL is restricted at the exchange
  • FTTP is not available.
  • For all ADSL and WBC Fibre to the Cabinet (VDSL or G.fast) services, the stable line rate will be determined during the first 10 days of service usage.

Speaking to OpenReach/BT a while ago even FttC may not be a possibility for now!

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

Thanks for your input, Townman. Appreciated.

Other ISPs also go on about how many devices are on the router... I've always been sceptical. That that makes a hoot of difference when most of them are idle.

I can imagine that the HubOne does need a periodic reset, maybe to clear out caches, buffers or reclaim sockets or whatever.

Without dumping a 1000 lines of log into this post, what I can say is the router light goes to orange, blinks, and finally goes blue again after about 3 minutes. During this time, Windows network report that there is "No Internet". The drops can happen any time of day. There is no clear trigger or pattern.

I did ask PN support if the drop rate I had was a normal frequency. I don't actually recall their answer, so I have to read that as "non-committal."  I'm not too worried about it, but thought I'd check with the community to so what they had to say.

An engineer came to the property a few months back saying it was the best line he could get, so I feel this will be filed under "oh well. keep your fingers crossed for Fibre to finally become available." Also starting to seem like "a better bit of kit probably won't fix this!" which does nothing for my GAS 😁

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 1,098
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

@eBread 

If OpenReach aren't doing or planning FTTP at the moment then are any of the alternative suppliers? Search online for Ultrafast Broadband in your area (or post a general location).

 

I believe @Townman  was simply trying to clarify the problem a bit more to enable a better answer.

 

Brian

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

Thanks Brian

I spoke to everybody a few months ago, including Virgin who have their own infrastructure. I guess I'll dig out my notes and repeat the exercise at some point!

I presuming that since no-one has mentioned any suggestions for hardware that h/w is not the answer?

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 1,098
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

@eBread 

Given there are now a significant number of Alternative Suppliers with their own infrastructure it's worth searching online for your location. Either that or provide a general location so others can check. It might be worth looking at the following 2 links. The first will tell you if OR have any FTTP plans for you property. The second will say if any alternative suppliers are "live" (look at the bottom left of the results window).

https://www.openreach.com/

https://checker.ofcom.org.uk/

 

Can't specifically help with your original query but many members replaced their HubOne with a BT HH6 bought off eBay. Instructions for setup can be found in the My Router forum. The PlusNet HubOne is basically a BT HH5 so the HH6 was a step up with better WiFi.

 

Brian

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,199
Thanks: 9,719
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

The router lights changing colour points to a XDSL event. Too many WiFi devices are not likely to cause that.

The Hub One is a BT HHB5a and therefore the specialised version of router stats works well with it. See the link below. Set it running 24x7 and let’s see what happens, especially when it drops.

Do you have a phone connected to the line? If not can you please install one. There is the possibility that inbound calls are causing the line to drop.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

Thanks BMC

I'll try out those links. I'm in the Manchester Centre area.

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

Thanks Townman

Wasn't aware there was a  specialised version of router stats! I couldn't see a link in your post though.

Regards

bmc
Hero
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 1,098
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

@eBread 

I'm not familiar with Manchester so don't know how large the area you quoted is. I had a quick look and found the following. Try your own post code. It does appear to suggest there are areas in Manchester with just ADSL.

https://broadbandcheck.co.uk/manchester

 

To narrow things down you could state your Exchnage name if you wish.

 

Brian

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,199
Thanks: 9,719
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

The link is in the buttons in my signature.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

totstiny89
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-03-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

I can imagine that the HubOne does need a periodic reset, maybe to clear out caches, buffers or reclaim sockets or whatever.

 

eBread
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎27-02-2022

Re: Buy new ADSL modem-router or add a standalone router to the stock PlusNet Hub One?

hi bmc

thanks  This is us "Exchange ARDWICK . served by Cabinet 1"

 

townsman ah.. the buttons... i didn't recognise it as a signature area. i generally expect reguar A tags. thanks!