cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buffering :(

rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Buffering :(

I have seen several posts here about gateway problems / slow connections .
I myself have recently have had problems with slow page load times , but now i am having trouble with streaming TV < Channel 4 / BBC i player , keep warning me " insufficient bandwidth "
I have fibre unlimited 80/20  Cool and a netgear WNR 1000v3 supplied from PN
speedtest.net keeps saying my speed is constant , ping test is fine
Broadband Ping
<img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/3359239093.png" />
[Moderator's note by Adie (dvorak) fixed linky]
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
17 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,981
Thanks: 2,069
Fixes: 298
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Buffering :(

I've been streaming BT sport, ITV player and Sky sports without any buffering today

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

shalom2010
Grafter
Posts: 977
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: Buffering :(

Been watching iPlayer on a SmartTV 40 feet from router (582n) for last 4 months, only one or two buffering issues for a few seconds.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Buffering :(

Are you using a wired or wireless connection to the router?
Which exchange are you on?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering :(

@Jelv ,,,  Wired ,
Code: MYUND
County: West Yorkshire
Enabled: 10 Sep 2003
Market: 3
Mkt2014: B
Undercliffe exchange
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Buffering :(

Could you run the thinkbroadband speed test and post the results. http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html
The graphs that gives might indicate something.
Does it stream OK at some times of the day?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Buffering :(

Would you also be able to run the BT Speedtester at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com including 'Further Diagnostics' ?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering :(

bt speedtest done  Wink                  DL 73.2 upload 16.6
My Broadband Ping
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Buffering :(

Are you still getting the error message this morning too?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering :(

just the odd page slow load , for some reason its worse here  Embarrassed
havent tried Iplayer yet
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Buffering :(

Ok.
Let me know if iPlayer is still causing you problems.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering :(

channel 4 still saying not enough bandwidth , Iplayer buffering  & keep getting iplayer test error  Embarrassed
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Buffering :(

Can you drop your PPP Session (log into your router hit 'Disconnect' and 'Connect' again) and see if that resolves the issue please?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering :(

have already  done that several times , and gateway hopped , but will do again  Wink
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Buffering :(

I've made a few back end changes to see if that resolves the issue for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer