cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buffering

valart
Grafter
Posts: 418
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2007

Buffering

I was watching the semi finals at Wimbledon yesterday on my laptop and the old buffering circle was doing over time on my screen sometimes I have no problems but yesterday was a waste of time,can someone explain why this happens is it to do how busy it is online.
15 REPLIES
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎23-04-2013

Re: Buffering

It's a possibility as it will play a part in the scheme of things, could be the CDN that you got connected to getting swapped around to another ,(which should be seamless) could be the peering transit used as well
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Buffering

Hi there,
We're not aware of anything obvious or any widespread reports of any issues on Saturday. Not that it should have had an impact but I would imagined to see more expected to see any such issues flagged on Sunday rather than Saturday.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Buffering

Anyone else experience buffering?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering

Kelly ,, yup me too was bad , eventually had pinch remote off the wife  Wink to watch it on TV ,,,, just put it down to loads of connections at same time on PN gateways
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,275
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Buffering

rongtw: Your line profile is currently set too high.  Were you doing anything else at the time?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering

@Kelly sorry i cant multi task  Wink one thing at a time .
How is my profile set too high  Huh am on 80/20 & getting 72/17
ok its dropped a bit from normal  Shocked
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Buffering

I think he means that your current line speed on the PN portal is set higher than the IP Profile reported by the BT speed test.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,609
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Buffering

hey plusnet guys ive noticed on my mum, brothers accounts it shows 7.5 meg speeds but the max they can get it 2 meg so maybe theres some kinda error in the PN portal
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,532
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎01-12-2010

Re: Buffering

back to normal  Cool
Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Grezzer36
Grafter
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎23-02-2009

Re: Buffering

Quote from: ukste20
hey plusnet guys ive noticed on my mum, brothers accounts it shows 7.5 meg speeds but the max they can get it 2 meg so maybe theres some kinda error in the PN portal

My PN profile shows same problem. Shows current line speed as 7.15mb, it's never higher than 2.0 - 2.3mb. Router shows current connection as 2.592mb which is as high as it gets.
Obviously something wrong with PN stats.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Buffering

Hi all,
@rongtw
Yes, your profile looks fine now.
@ukste20
Mind PMing their usernames over please so I can do some digging?
@Grezzer36
In your case the IP profile at BT's side had lowered, I've submitted an SNR reset which should see that right within a couple of hours. I'll check the BT IP profile later today and make sure the profile on our side matches.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Grezzer36
Grafter
Posts: 98
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎23-02-2009

Re: Buffering

Thanks Adam. Will keep an eye on it from my end. Router re connected at your re set at 2.3mb.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,536
Thanks: 251
Fixes: 69
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Buffering

Hi all,
I just wanted to update you that the mismatch between BT's profiles and ours as some of you have notices has already been picked up on and we're dealing with this specific issue on problem 75634
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
St3
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,609
Thanks: 498
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

Re: Buffering

Cheesy