cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband won't connect!

MrBlueyez
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-05-2014

Broadband won't connect!

Hi
I haven't been able to connect to the internet since 9am this morning.
There's no problem with my phone the line is working ok!
I've tried switching the router off and on throughout the day,checking the micro filters and as of yet no joy.
I have the wifi sign show up on my ipad and iphone saying it's connected but when I try to search the web a thing pops up saying "Technicolor Gateway" or words to that effect,I did notice this problem yesterday afternoon but soon after it was ok.
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,440
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband won't connect!

which lights are red
and what does this say about the connection state http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/bb/?be=0&l0=2&l1=-1
MrBlueyez
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Broadband won't connect!

Hi
At the moment I have 3 green lights for Power,Broadband and Wifi
A red light comes and goes on the Internet but now it's turned green
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,440
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband won't connect!

does that mean you can now browse the internet
what does the router log say http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/events/?be=0&l0=1&l1=2
MrBlueyez
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Broadband won't connect!

No I'm unable to browse the internet,I'm having to use 3g
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,186
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Broadband won't connect!

in the log does PPP link up (Internet) have a 172 IP address?
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
MrBlueyez
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Broadband won't connect!

I don't understand what you mean? What is PPP link up for a start? Log?
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,186
Thanks: 20
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Broadband won't connect!

if its a technicolor router filter the log by connection and it should be one of the last entries.  If it has a IP address that starts with 172, then its a BT IP address and you would need to reboot until you got a plusnet IP address.
Unvalued customer since 2001 funding cheap internet for others / DSL/Fibre house move 24 month regrade from 8th May 2017
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,440
Thanks: 1,017
Fixes: 61
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband won't connect!

the log is found by following the link I posted above
Here it is again http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/events/?be=0&l0=1&l1=2
MrBlueyez
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 14-05-2014

Re: Broadband won't connect!

Thankyou for your help but it seems to be working fine now..
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Broadband won't connect!

Hi MrBlueyez,
I've just taken a look at your connection, more out of concern as to what was causing the issue. Your connection graph paints an interesting picture:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14004938009456.png"/>
It looks as though something caused your connection to become very intermittent on Saturday.
I've made a couple of changes to your line settings which should help to keep it stable.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer