cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

FIXED
Highlighted
awllee
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 10-08-2017

Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

We recently moved home and signed up with plusnet unlimited broadband. It looked like the speed would be slow, but fibre broadband was also available so I thought I would upgrade if the speed was unsatisfactory.

 

Now that we have settled in, and the speed is indeed too slow, I tried to change product but fibre is no longer a listed option. In fact there are no other options available...

 

Is there something we need to do to re-enable fibre as an option?

 

5 REPLIES
bmc
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 284
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 1
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

What does the DSL checker say for your line?

http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome

 

Which Exchange and cabinet are you on.

 

Brian

awllee
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 10-08-2017

Re: Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

I managed to get through to a person on the telephone help line.

I believe that the output of that query indicates that fibre is temporarily unavailable for new orders, but this is because there is some maintenance being done.

They will get back in touch with me when fibre is available again, hopefully.

I'm on Filton Cabinet 28.

 

bmc
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 284
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 1
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

Don't bank on anyone getting back to you!!! You should check daily online to see what the score is.

 

The CodeLook website has the following for Filton Cab28 - FTTC Available from 6th January 2015, expanded 22nd June 2016

 

Brian

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,581
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 151
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

Hi there,

 

There's a bit of a contradiction between the 2 supplier systems we use to check for fibre availability. http://dslchecker.bt.com shows that fibre isn't available and no planned date for this, whereas https://www.homeandwork.openreach.co.uk/when-can-i-get-fibre.aspx shows availability.

 

I've sent a request off to clarify which is correct and one we hear back we'll update this thread.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 17,581
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 151
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Broadband very slow + can't upgrade to fibre anymore?

Fix

Should all be sorted now, there was a discrepancy between systems but I've had that updated and http://dslchecker.bt.com/ now shows fibre is available!

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Help Team