cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband uploading causes download speed to collapse

teddyindevon
Hooked

Broadband uploading causes download speed to collapse

Hi, I am a newbie to the forums but I have been with Plusnet for ages (standard unlimited Broadband)  and normally have had no problems whatsoever.  Initially using a Technicolor TG582n  I upgraded” to a BTHome Hub 3 a while ago as I installed a WiFi camera in the loft (watching for signs of any mice) and felt the WiFi on the Hub3 would be better.  Subsequently with two more WiFi cameras in the garden and bearing in mind a couple of “smart” TV’s (with catch up) and my iPad and phone, I decided to upgrade to a two band WiFi router.  A Netgear D7000 came – and went back, it seemed to keep “dropping” the broadband (the lights on it indicated it was still connected) so I got hold of a BTHub6 which, strangely, also kept dropping the connection but at least told me so with the lights on it.

Fine – Plusnet eventually “twiddled” with the line settings – told me to plug into the (old) Master Socket (rather than an internal house extension) and eventually an Openreach engineer called and installed a new Master socket.  I latterly found out that this new master socket is wired so as the remaining internal sockets now no longer receive Broadband – phone yes.  So I am restricted to using the main socket just by the front door.  Hence now a strong WiFi is essential.