cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Evening all
After some advice please.  Migrated ADSL service from Xilo last week, and Plusnet service went live on the 18th March on ADSLmax.  Steady speeds previously at 4.5Mbps with Xilo, and initially been steady at between 4.5 to 5Mbps with Plusnet until this evening.  Speeds have dropped to 1.5 to 2Mbps.  My question is, is this quite normal, and are the speeds likely to stabilise at what they had been previously?
Thanks in advance for any answers.  Smiley
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Hi
Could you do a few things:
1) Run the BT Speed test (http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/), then click on Further Diagnostics and post the results.
2) Post which gateway you're on (http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway)
3) Access your router connection stats (from the admin page) and post them here
4) Post the current line speed from here - https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Hi AndyH
Thanks for the quick response!  Here are the results
1) BT Speed test, after 5 attempts, same result
"FAQ
1. Best Effort Test:
Download Speed : 2.07 Mbps

Your speed test has completed and the results are shown above, however during the test an error occurred while trying to retrieve additional details regarding your service. As a result we are unable to determine if the speed you received during the test is acceptable for your service. Please re-run the test if you require this additional information."
2) Gateway
pcl-ag03
3) Router connection stats
Attached pdf file
4) Current line Speed
Estimated Line Speed - 4 Mb
Current Line Speed - 7.15 Mb
Router connected directly to Main NTE5 box
Thanks  Smiley



Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Can you try disconnecting/reconnecting from the router admin page, then try running a speed test again to see if there's any improvement?
Thanks
eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Hi AndyH
Did as you suggested, and the speedtest returns 1.99 Mbps
Thanks for your help so far!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

No worries...sorry, more questions:
How are you connected - wired/wireless?
Which exchange are you on? (you can check from http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search if you don't know)
eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

No problem Andy
Current setup is - Apple TimeCapsule, connected to Draytek Vigor 120 ethernet modem.  Wireless connection from TimeCapsule to Macbook Pro, but all the tests were completed via ethernet to the Timecapsule.
The Draytek passes the connection info to the TimeCapsule, including the DNS addresses etc..
Connected to Bodorgan exchange, exchange code WNBDO.
thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Ok thanks - we need to know what your line profile is with BT really, but unfortunately their checker seems broken at the moment.
There don't appear to be any obvious faults (apologies I couldn't see anything).
Can you try running a http://www.speedtest.net/ speed test? Just to rule out issues with BT's test!
eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Hi Andy
Speedtest.net indicates an average speed of 2 - 2.25 Mbps over several tests.
Is it likely that because the full 10 day training period is not over yet, that the linespeed may increase by itself?
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

You should get the same speeds as with XILO. But it seems like something has triggered a drop in your speed (possibly BT's DLM).
Have you had any connectivity problems today/turned off your router?
eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

No connectivity problems as far as i'm aware today.  Not disconnected either.
Very puzzling!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Indeed.
I'd go through PlusNet's fault process (http://faults.plus.net) and get it logged as a fault so PN can investigate further.
eranou
Newbie
Posts: 7
Registered: 21-03-2013

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Thanks for all your help Andy, i'll raise a ticket as you suggest.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Broadband speeds on newly migrated ADSL service

Hi eranou,
Glad to see that your speeds are now preforming as they should, I've checked over your line and everything seems normal.
I've updated your ticket too.
Chris