cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speed

Community Veteran
Posts: 8,425
Thanks: 906
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Broadband speed

My speed seems to have dropped by 50% ?
Hope this is temporary.
http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/59822611.png
17 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,853
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Broadband speed

What answer do you hope to receive?  I ask because there is little anyone can say on the information you posted.
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,425
Thanks: 906
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed

/www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/60004091.png[/img][/url]
Well I could do with 2 answers.
I Have copied and pasted both the links which show my broadband speed......I assumed they would show the box with the speed but clearly this is not the case. So the first question is how do I do this ?
The second is why has my speed dropped by 50% ?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband speed

As said above we need more information
Router stats - attenuation, speeds, noise margin
Result of BT Speedtest and the current line speed given here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed would be a start
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,425
Thanks: 906
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed

<a href="http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk"><img src="http
Current line speed 750
Estimated line speed not available
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband speed

All that tells us is that the Plusnet mirror of the IP profile is 750kbps which is probably the problem but doesn't help in diagnosis
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,853
Thanks: 121
Fixes: 24
Registered: 14-07-2009

Re: Broadband speed

Gleneagles, you've made 446 posts so we are assuming you know the ropes.  if you want detailed instructions on how to run the BT speed test or how to find your router statistics please say so. 
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,425
Thanks: 906
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed

Yes. Please give me the detailed instructions on how to Display (not run) the speed test box in my post. Along with how to find my router statistics.
I Have made 447 posts but the number of posts a person makes is not a reliable method to judge their knowledge of computers and the internet.
I do admit that on one occassion in the past I did manage to display the speed test box and assumed posting these links would display the box, in short having done it once some time ago I fail to recall how I did it.
I Have no intention of apologising for a poor memory which comes with increasing age and hope that yourself or someone else will be kind enough to give me the information required providing it's not to much trouble.
jim:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband speed

Router statistics
If you have a Plusnet router they are here
If you don't look here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/frogstats.php
To paste the results from the BT speedtest just select the text, copy it then past it into the post.
This is a link to the speedtest http://speedtester.bt.com/
The result will look like this
Quote
Download speed achieved during the test was - 1945 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 1200-4000 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :4032 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 3500 Kbps

Note the speed test we we want isn't the one you are using
To add - to paste the result of the speedtest you are using you need to copy the whole forum link unfortunately that isn't easy because the page doesn't seem to allow that.
One way round it is to copy the direct link and paste it in as below

where the code is [img]http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/60387151.png[/img]
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,425
Thanks: 906
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed

Oldjim,
Thanks for your response. The first part of the information you require is,
DSL Connection
Link Information

Uptime: 0 days, 1:07:08
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 1,504
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 3.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 16.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 61.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 13.0 / 16.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 182
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 6
I will post the next bit of information in a minute
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,579
Thanks: 955
Fixes: 54
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

To use the Forum link from mybroadbandspeed, click on share against the result, right-click in the Forum link box and choose "Select all". Then copy and paste the hightlighted text into your reply
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

Quote from: Oldjim
To add - to paste the result of the speedtest you are using you need to copy the whole forum link unfortunately that isn't easy because the page doesn't seem to allow that.

Huh
After you click the share link hit the tab key once all the text in the box is selected ready for copying.
Or
Click in to the forum link box and key CTRL A which will again select all the text.
Edit: CTRL A is the same as right click Select All
Quote from: Oldjim
where the code is [img]http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/60387151.png[/img]

The correct code is [url=http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk][img]http://www.mybroadbandspeed.co.uk/results/60393411.png[/img][/url]
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband speed

That almost answers the question.
The automatic systems have decided your line is unstable and have increased the default noise margin from 6dB or 9dB to 15dB.
This is why your speeds have dropped.
If you can check your noise margin in the late evening and report it then we will see if there is a very big variation.
If you have a Thomson 585 router it would be an even better idea to download routerstats and let that monitor the error rates and noise margin http://www.vwlowen.co.uk/internet/files.htm
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband speed

To those who explained how to copy the whole think - thanks
To Jelv - my link works just fine and is a lot simpler as here
Community Veteran
Posts: 8,425
Thanks: 906
Fixes: 9
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed

Sorry for the delay.
The BT speedtester requires Java to be installed so thats the reason for the delay in responding.
Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
635 Kbps

0 Kbps 2000 Kbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 635 Kbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 400-2000 Kbps.
Additional Information:
Your DSL Connection Rate :1504 Kbps(DOWN-STREAM), 448 Kbps(UP-STREAM)
IP Profile for your line is - 1250 Kbps

If you wish to discuss these results please contact your ISP.
If you are experiencing problems with specific applications, servers or websites please contact your ISP for assistance.
Your test has completed please close this window to exit the performance tester.