cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speed

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Broadband speed

Hello,i have been a Plusnet customer for about a month now. Over the last week my broad band speed has dropped by about a third.I was getting speeds of 6.8 mbps and got a email to confirm that from Plusnet.My speed over the last week has dropped to about 4.5 mbps.I contacted Plusnet yesterday and they wanted to send a engineer out but  said there would be a charge of £50 if the fault was mine.I said i would see how the connection was over the next few days.I am confident it is not the fault at my end as i have been receiving broad band for  about 10 years.I have tried my old Talktalk router with the same results.Any help with my problem would be appreciated.

20 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,520
Thanks: 670
Fixes: 60
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Broadband speed

Follow the advice given in the troublshooting guide at https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/Broadband-Fault-amp-Order-Support-Guides/m-p/1042331#U104233...

 

The £50 charge is only if your internal wiring is at fault (or your modem/router) but the advice in the guides should show you how to discount them before you get an engineer out.

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

Thanks i will try.

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

I have checked all cables etc.I have the new open reach plug with built in micro filter.I would not feel confident taking it apart.I have tried a second router with the same results.The BT wholesale tester comes up with different results but never the speed i was having.In fact the bt wholesale tester results vary significantly when compared to other speed testers. 

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

Think broadband speed tester was 4.3mbps and bT wholesale tester was 7.63. and gives varying results but mainly about 4 mbps.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,454
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Broadband speed

How are you testing, wired or wifi?

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

Hard wired Ethernet cable .thanks.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

 
  Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 27.3 45.5
SNR Margin: 6.0 8.8
Errored Seconds: 0 17
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 22 52
Speed: 1050 6816
Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 6240 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 4992
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 7871 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 11807
Indicative Line Quality: R Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 3

 

The line is showing a lot of errors. Is there any noise on the phone when you pick up a handset?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

Yes there is a background humming noise on the land line.Many thanks.

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

The broadband speed as gone up slightly to 5.77 Mbps according to BT Wholesale speed test.The best I ever got was 6 .8 Mbps,so things are improving.Would it be best to run with it or ask Plusnet what i should do.Many thanks for your most helpful attention. 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,646
Thanks: 640
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

It's worthwhile running through the phone troubleshooter and reporting as a noisy line: http://www.plus.net/help/phone/phone-line-troubleshooting/

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

Thanks,I will try.

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

I have one of those new phone sockets with a built in micro-filter,so I will not touch it.I think I will give it a couple of days and run with it.If after this time their is no improvement I will contact Plusnet.Many thanks for the help i have received. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 471
Thanks: 35
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Broadband speed

I suggest taking that front plate off, and test with a phone in the test socket behind.  It's not impossible the fault lies with the filtered faceplate, and for a noisy line fault you really want to eliminate anything broadband related.  You'll be reporting a voice fault and it will be a voice engineer that attends to it on that basis.

peterwain
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: 12-06-2016

Re: Broadband speed

Thanks but I would not like to touch this new box.I will give it  two days and then phone Plusnet.If it is the new socket would i be charged.