cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speed

SWANECO
Grafter
Posts: 39
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2013

Broadband speed

Hi,
After a lot of problems with my broadband Openreach sorted out my line and my service was restored.
During my problems Plusnet explained to me how to monitor my ADSL stats  from the router using the information and the events log.
Not that I really understand more than the basics.
My linespeed increased to 12-13 megs as measured by the router following the line correction .
However the events log showed the router restarting about ever 12 hours, XDSL error.
I never noticed these restarts as I was not using the system at the time.
This weekend the linespeed dropped to447/782 K, this was the speed I was quoted when I entered the contract.
No restarts for 2 days now.
I wonder if the 'system' has got fed up with all the restarts and dropped the linespeed.
If so what happens now?
Will it slowly increase or will it stick with the present speed?
Perhaps I should stop nosying with what I do not understand.
The 12 meg download days were brilliant.
7 REPLIES
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,759
Thanks: 1,146
Fixes: 62
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

Going down from 12Mbps to 782Kbps seems extreme even if the DLM has decided the higher speeds are not sustainable. It would help the community to comment if you could post your routerstats and Current line speed (from the Member Centre). You'll find more information on this here.
Though that post recommends moving the router to the test socket, I suggest leaving the set up as it stands for the moment. I'm assuming you didn't relocate anything or plug new equipment into the phone line around the time the speed dropped?
David
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Broadband speed

Hi there,
You've had quite a few disconnections recently, have these been caused by you?
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13787320811973.png"/>
Has anything changed internally? Your downstream noise margin has increase to 15dB from 6dB which has seen a speed decrease.
SWANECO
Grafter
Posts: 39
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2013

Re: Broadband speed

Hi
Here are the stats you asked for
Technicolor TG582n
admin

Home
Technicolor Gateway
Broadband Connection
DSL Connection
Internet Services
Toolbox
Home Network
Help

Home > Broadband Connection > DSL Connection Overview | Details
Physical Connectivity OK
DSL Connection
Link Information
Uptime: 2 days, 22:00:23
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 447 / 7.825
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 463,43 / 929,78
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,2 / 20,6
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 15,9 / 30,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 19,3 / 14,2
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 54 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 172 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 14.772 / 7
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 7.388 / 347.065
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 3.938
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 130.513
Pick a task...
See information about my broadband connection(s)

Home Image not loadedTesting Image not loadedResult Image not loaded


FAQ
Results Image not loaded

1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
Download  Speed
7.37 Mbps

0 Mbps 7.15 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 7.37 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 2 Mbps-7.15 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 6.9 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.34 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.45 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.34Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps

We were unable to identify any performance problem with your service at this time.
It is possible that any problem you are currently, or had previously experienced may have been caused by traffic congestion on the Internet or by the server you were accessing responding slowly.
If you continue to encounter a problem with a specific server, please contact the administrator of that server in the first instance.
Please visit the FAQ if you are unable to understand the test results.
the line seems quite stable since the router XDSL restarts  from the other day when it showed it dropping to 7.825 from 13.162.
The noise stats were at 20,9 / 5.6 when I was getting 13 meg.
i have not messed with anything on the router and and nothing has changed.


Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,471
Thanks: 246
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

2 days uptime looks like the best you've had for a while, the SNR is quite high still though.
I'd advise monitoring this for another 24/48 hours to see if the line remains stable, if need be we can then submit an SNR reset for you. Alternatively or if this is is causing concern for you in the meantime logging a fault would be a good idea: http://faults.plus.net
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
SWANECO
Grafter
Posts: 39
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2013

Re: Broadband speed

Hi
Many thanks for your help.
I will keep an eye on the stats from the router, speeds and  noise and let you know how it goes.
The router stats have not shown any change in speeds since since 8 September.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,759
Thanks: 1,146
Fixes: 62
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Broadband speed

The downstream sync speed (7825kbps) is actually 10 times the value given in the opening post (782kbps), an unfortunate typo which my initial comment was based on. Wink
The actual reduction in sync speed is consistent with the DLM increasing target noise margin from 6dB to 15dB (which was mentioned by Chris Purvey). It looks like that might have been done to reduce the downstream error rate.
David
SWANECO
Grafter
Posts: 39
Thanks: 2
Registered: 27-07-2013

Re: Broadband speed

Hi
I really will have to be more careful, there is quite a difference.
It is awkward with speeds being give in both kilobytes and in meg..