cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speed issue

pandora1
Dabbler

Broadband speed issue

Hi i am new to this! i joined Plusnet on the recommendation of my daughter who lives in Ireland and gets 5mg broadband speed, i was only getting 3 mg so decided to change, OMG wish i had never done it ! had long discussions with plusnet, over the last 2 or 3 months to no avail, my speed is 1.9mg ! and have been told that is all they can provide, due to distance from the hub! my daughter is disabled and relies on me to Skype her every day and do shopping on line with her. I have asked to end my contract with them but was told there would be over £100 to pay, to release me.The only other thing they have said is to use my ethernet cable, i thought i was paying for wireless! Any one that could help i would be so grateful i am at my wits end now. Thanks in advance. Cry
jim:red All caps in title changed as per the Forum Rules mod:end
25 REPLIES 25
picbits
Rising Star

Re: BROADBAND SPEED ISSUE

Hi Smiley
Can you have a quick look at this thread and post your router stats using the guide on that thread ? (Points 1-3)
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
This will give us all an idea of your connection speeds, what your line is capable of, any excessive errors and much more info.
egg1T

Re: BROADBAND SPEED ISSUE

Seems to me that you Are resisting using the ethernet cable? Speed versus conveniences of WiFi! I use a ethernet where possible at all times because there is no getting away from it cable is faster always. You may find that the extra meg or 2 cable will give may get you skyping!
pandora1
Dabbler

Re: Broadband speed issue