cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Hi all
For the last couple of weeks we've been seeing a really crippled broadband speed and was wondering if anyone else has been seeing the same or had the same and has the magic elixir to resolve the issue?
Up until then we had a solid connection of around 14Mb and it used to fly along and download at a solid 1.4mb/s +
Since the problem arose we've been reduced to between 30-150kb/s
Bizarrely the upload speed outperforms the download at around 100-150kb/s.
I followed the PlusNet fault diagnosis including replacing my old Netgear DG834PN with a new DGND3700v2.
All plugged in and ... the same results Sad
I systematically replaced all the components, removed the extension phone+filter and also wired directly into the main socket with every other devise switched off.
Still slow  Undecided
I reset the router back to factory and only connected my mobile via wi-fi and it was still dead slow 60kb/s downloading.
So a ticket was raised with PN Support (...86755)
We just had a BT engineer here today who installed a proper main socket rather than the cheapo basic one the property developer had installed and the expected line speed improved from 1.3/1.4m to 1.5m, but the actual download performance is still in the 50-150kb/s range Sad
The engineer bless 'im also tested my new microfilter and RJ11 and proved that they're all fine too.
His equipment was reporting the same line speeds as my router (screenshots attached).

We're at a loss as to what could be causing the restriction/performance.
The router config is the same as the old router which matches the Plusnet recommended settings and we didn't change anything for the broadband to suddenly slow down.
Kinda at a loss as to what it could be  Cry
My head is telling me its either the router or our connection is throttled.
The new router made no difference and says the line can support 14Mb, so logically my head is thinking that the limitation is coming from restricted speed (as if I was back on metered broadband and I'd gone over my limit)

Any hints tips or suggestions to help me resolve this would be greatly appreciated.
It's doing my nut here  Embarrassed
18 REPLIES
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Following looking at some other example posts... some more info:
ThinkBroadband speed test run  (+ attached)

Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.13.50]
 1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  eth1-118.uw-fw1.rtr.net.uw.edu.pl [xxx.xxx.xxx]
 2     *       24 ms    23 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag06.plus.net [195.166.128.187]
 3    24 ms     *       24 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.180]
 4    24 ms    23 ms    23 ms  xe-10-3-0.pcl-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.212]
 5    24 ms     *       24 ms  po2.pcl-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.41]
 6    23 ms    24 ms    24 ms  vl63.pcl-lb01.plus.net [212.159.2.252]
 7    25 ms    24 ms    24 ms  cdns02.plus.net [212.159.13.50]
Current Gateway: PCL-AG06

Estimated line speed:
   There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
   8.7 Mb
The engineer said the line was exceptionally clean with 0 faults across the board, so I should have (did have) a really fast connection.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Hi,
I'm really sorry for the problems that you're experiencing here. It looks as though your connection has been through an intermittent patch recently:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13916853602924.png"/>
Can you think of any reasons for these drops at all? Your line seems to think that there is something causing interference for the drops.
Profile: WBC 160K - 24M Medium delay (INP 1) 15dB Downstream, UC Low delay (INP 0) 9dB Upstream (ADSL2+) - You can relate to this here: http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/broadband-faults-guide-banding-guide/
As your SNR Target is 15db, that will be pushing your speeds down quite a bit - this is due to the drops.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Thanks for the reply.
I saw that it was 15db this morning, but the performance has been pretty much the same from when it was 6db a week or so ago.
The line usually drops and reconnects shortly after I speak with you guys (jumping me onto a different gateway?)  and any time where it drops before 10-11am will have been done remotely(?)with the exception of Monday am which was me.
All the dropping on Wednesday was the engineer working on the problem and installing the new wall socket. He proved the line right up to the router was clean and would support 15Mb, so later in the day it's dropping off where I was trying different settings (e.g. MTU) in the router to see if that would help it.
I reset it back the way it was in the end as there was no better or worse either way.
The 6am this morning wasn't me, but the 11a.m. was setting up a security change to the LAN and it reset itself after that.
I'm having to make these changes as this is the new router I had to buy to prove the old router wasn't the problem.
Catch 22  Undecided
On the upside(!), we were down to 7kb/s download earlier  Cry
Fortunatly we're back up to the heady heights of 50-60kb/s this evening
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

If you do an SNR reset I promise I'll leave the router alone Wink
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

You've got yourself a deal Wink
I'll submit an SNR Reset in the morning as I think the SNR being at 15db might be a follow on from the engineers visit. I'll pick this up in the morning and I'll post back once I've done the reset Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Cheers Chris.
Hopefully the days of getting entertainment from watching the light blink on the router while waiting for pages to load will be behind us  Cheesy

P.S. When the engineer installed the new master socket, should he have reconnected our extension?
He said it was causing a 5mb drop in the line down to 9-10Mb (I wish) and explained that they only support up to the main socket, but when I was plugging everything back in later in the day I found the bedroom phone to be deadski  Shocked
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

No - the engineer should have reconnected the extension sockets, however they can disconnect them if they feel that they are causing a drop in speeds.
If you could pop a response onto your Fault Ticket advising that your extension sockets no longer work following the engineer visit, they should be able to sort that out for you.
I've processed the SNR Reset for you, you should see an improvement over the next 15-20 minutes Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Hi
I've left the router alone as promised ... no poking with sticks .. nothing Smiley
Quick wee test showed it still downloading at about 50kb/s Sad
Broadband speed check shows little difference either (attached)
Line still showing 15db noise margin
Trace for the fun of it (I need to get out more)
Tracing route to ntp.plus.net [212.159.6.9]
  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  eth1-118.uw-fw1.rtr.net.uw.edu.pl [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
  2    26 ms    26 ms    26 ms  lo0-central10.pcl-ag06.plus.net [195.166.128.187]
  3    24 ms    24 ms    24 ms  link-a-central10.pcl-gw01.plus.net [212.159.2.180]
  4    25 ms    25 ms    38 ms  xe-10-3-0.pcl-cr01.plus.net [212.159.0.212]
  5    26 ms    24 ms    24 ms  po2.pcl-gw01.plus.net [195.166.129.41]
  6    24 ms    28 ms    *    vl63.pcl-lb01.plus.net [212.159.2.252]
  7    25 ms    24 ms    25 ms  cdns01.plus.net [212.159.6.9]


Interestingly, last nght I did a little experiment where I started 15 items downloading in parallel.
Each one was bouncing around between 60-120kb and my network was showing a total download speed of around 8-10Mb Smiley
I checked email and twitter, facebook on my phone while this was happening and there was no speed drop there either (the line should have 5Mb bandwidth left, so no surprise there)
As each download completed, the overall total speed also dropped instead of maximising the bandwidth that the multiple steaming proved the line can easily support.
But at of 18:15 ... no apparent change  Cry
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,074
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Can you post a full set of router stats please, including SNRM, attenuation and error counts.
SNRM is still 15dB and the synch speed is still lower than it ought to be for your attenuation.  The error stats might point to something useful.  Is the phone line quiet?
Also what is your current line speed as reported on the Plus Net user portal (connection / high speed broadband)?
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Cheers Townman
Router stats ... it's about yay big, it's black and has blinking lights  Smiley
Joking aside, the phone line is crystal clear as the BT engineer confirmed in his testing.
He said it was one of the cleanest lines he'd seen in a flat .... I guess the junction boxes can be messy?
As of tonight the SNR has crept up to 15.4db.
The router's been on for 38 hours, but the line was reset (when the SNR was reset?) 14.5hrs ago
The line attenuation is showing 24.5 dB (unchanged from the last post) and collisions are 0
So in theory, with 0 collisions, it should be flying...no?
The link rate on the modem has dropped from 15300 to 13938 Kbps and the line speed as reported on the Plus Net user portal is:
Estimated line speed:  There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:    12.7 Mb

Hope that helps.
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Whoaaa..... something happened between me posting that last item and 10 seconds ago.
I just downloaded the latest firmware for the modem (in case I need to re-apply it) and I thought: "Hey .... this is 18Mb and its cracking on a bit"
A quick check and, for the first time in almost a month, it was downloading at ...... wait for it ...... 400kb/s  Cheesy
I didn't even have time to go and make a cup of tea Cool
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Scratch that... it was a freaky one-off
Back to 60-100kb download on a single thread  Sad
CallumW
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Chris..... you know how I said I wouldn't touch the router ....... ?  Cheesy

I've seen a few people complain online that their DGND3700v2 had some speed issues out the box and flashing the firmware fixed the problem.
Soooooo what I was thinking of doing was taking it (and my old router) over to my dad's house to test them there.
He has no speed issues on his line and is also with PN (one of my referrals Wink )
It just eliminates routers from the equation.
Smiley
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,074
Thanks: 2,425
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Broadband speed issue - router thinks it's fine(!) Anyone else seeing this?

Quote from: CallumW
So in theory, with 0 collisions, it should be flying...no?
Hope that helps.

Callum,
No not really.  Collisions refers to the LAN side of your router.  Need to see line error counts - FEC / HEC / CRC.
If the SNRM is remaining at 15dB there is some thing not right with the line / settings.