cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

stephenie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎25-04-2023

Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

the hub only has an orange flash light and cannot connect to the internet although restarted several times. I have tried to call the service support team in Plusnet but still not got a reply yet, it has been a week for this condition. 

Can anyone provide suggestions and resolution please ?

36 REPLIES 36
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Hub1 or Hub2?

John
stephenie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎25-04-2023

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Hub 2 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Thanks. Can you post a screen shot of your Technical log page, please - it will look something like the below. Make sure your username is obscured.

5.Hub2 technical.png

John
stephenie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎25-04-2023

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

I would like to ask where can I find the technical log page ? big thanks

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

On your Hub - log into it, and then click 'Advanced', then 'technical log'.

John
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,261
Thanks: 9,766
Fixes: 162
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Check you router lights

Your router lights can tell you a great deal about what is happening when things are not as they should be. The colour of the lights and their state will tell you all you need to know ... if only you could find the help sheet which came with the router. That information can also be found in the depths of the on-line help & support guides. The following links make the material easier to find.

 

Hub Two flashing orange suggests that the modem cannot establish xDSL sync.  Check the phone line...

Broadband is not going to work well if the "phone" line is not working properly.

Please perform a quiet line test - dial 17070 select option 2 using a phone plugged into the test socket behind the face plate of the master socket (ideally this should be a corded phone). The line should be silent. A noisy phone line (or no dial tone) will have a marked adverse impact on the performance of broadband.

If the line is noisy or there is no dial tone, then a PHONE LINE fault needs to be raised with your phone provider. If this is PlusNet, you can report a fault on line using the button below. NB: You need to put your LANDLINE NUMBER after "PHONE" [missing instruction].


 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

stephenie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎25-04-2023

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

2a1e4ee0-1e64-411c-a4c2-e1cd30a907c4.jpg68846f56-59af-4254-8c94-fbed94e6e1b8.jpg71717d74-2f1a-49a8-8c6b-700ef0847b15.jpga7b58174-5a01-40f3-8bcf-6bfbe82c5bc5.jpg

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

@stephenie Thanks for that. The bit of the Tech log you have provided suggests to me that you have no connection whatsoever.

How long have you been a PN customer, and has the connection ever worked? As @Townman suggests above, have you checked for a working phone line?

John
stephenie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎25-04-2023

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

as we just move in , we are new to PN ,when we start to install the connection stay like this . As we are not using any home tele no sure is there anyways that we could check the phone line ?

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Ah, so you are a new customer. Have you been told your connection is live? Do you not have a land line phone at all - no handset?

 

EDIT: What service have you signed up for FTTC or Full Fibre?

John
stephenie
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎25-04-2023

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

PN just message me that the service is running and now up though SMS but I didn't receive any message that the connection is live? and yes we don't use landline phone at all . 

sorry for asking stupid question but I don't think I signed up for FTTC or Full fibre other than the PN wifi?

 

addition :

the product that I bought from PN is Unlimited Fibre Extrainc. Line rental

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Right, so you have FTTC - Wi-Fi is a method of getting the signal from the Hub to your devices. If you have received the notification that your service has been connected - today - I suggest you try rebooting the Hub one more time to see if it stops the flashing light, but be aware it can take up to 23.59 for all the bits to fall in place on their system. You would be better waiting until tomorrow morning, and if you still have no service, report back.

John
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,306
Thanks: 5,872
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

PN just message me that the service is running and now up though SMS

@jab1 you obviously read that as just now  as in not long ago whereas I read it as only as in no other notification but some while ago.

@stephenie how is your Hub 2 connected to the telephone line ? is it connected to the Openreach master socket ?

Does the master socket have two connections , one for DSL and one for Phone ?

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,434
Thanks: 5,680
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband keep on having flashing orange light

Fair enough, @MisterW , but the OP is not very clear in their response - I go on my interpretation of what I read.😉

John