cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband intermittent

jamesl182d
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 17-10-2014

Broadband intermittent

Hi there,

 

Our boradband has gone intermittent again.

 

We've had no problems for about a year but it took us a long time to get the speeds we're paying for without it cutting out, last time we had this issue. Currently, it's likely to go offline at least once an hour for a few minutes. If someone could take a look that'd be good.

 

James 

8 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Broadband intermittent

Hello. Sorry to hear that you're experiencing connection problems. I'll be happy to take a look at your account tomorrow morning for you when I'm back in the office. In the meantime, please could you run through the steps in our broadband trouble shooter at http://faults.plus.net to see if it helps resolve the problem?

(I'd also suggest running a line test yourself at https://portal.plus.net/my-account/tools/phone-troubleshooter/ just to make sure there are no issues with the line itself)

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Welshdragon
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Registered: 08-07-2016

Re: Broadband intermittent

Hi Anoush, this is what I see, upon clicking the link you provided.....

 

screenshot_1375.jpg

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Broadband intermittent

Hmm, I've managed to replicate that issue if I click on it whilst not logged in to the Member Centre. Can you try logging in first (if you haven't already)?

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Welshdragon
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Registered: 08-07-2016

Re: Broadband intermittent

Ahhhh, it needed me to be logged in first....

But......Something has gone wrong screenshot_1377.jpg.....

 

My choices were Other & inputed, some incoming calls, knock my broadband off.....

Save

jamesl182d
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: 17-10-2014

Re: Broadband intermittent

Thanks Anoush,

 

I filled out the form thingy as best I could but we don't have a phone so it's hard to give a proper answer to any of it without replacing all our hardware. Last time it was resolvable by Plusnet adjusting our bandwidth.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Broadband intermittent

No problem and thanks, James. It's possible that we can just do that again, I'll pick up your ticket tomorrow morning.

 


Welshdragon wrote:

Ahhhh, it needed me to be logged in first....

But......Something has gone wrong screenshot_1377.jpg.....

 

My choices were Other & inputed, some incoming calls, knock my broadband off.....


 @Welshdragon I have seen that message before. In a previous instance, the phone trouble shooter found a fault, opened a ticket on the account, and raised the issue to Openreach. Can you check for any open tickets at https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=search If there isn't a relevant ticket I'll look into your account tomorrow morning also.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Welshdragon
Rising Star
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Registered: 08-07-2016

Re: Broadband intermittent

Hi Anoush

I will start a new thread titled Workplace profile was mismatched and has been updated

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Broadband intermittent

xDSL Status Test Summary
Sync Status: Circuit In Sync
General Information
NTE Status:   NTE Power Status: PowerOn Bypass Status:  
 
  Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 12.6 25.0
SNR Margin: 14.5 12.1
Errored Seconds: 0 2
HEC Errors: 0  
Cell Count: 424 1431
Speed: 472 13547

 

image14682235994514

@jamesl182d Thanks for your patience. Your connection is quite intermittent and the SNR margin has risen too high in an effort to stabilise it. From looking at your fault notes, the issue appears to either be your router or the line outside. We would need to arrange an engineer appointment, however if the fault is the router there may be a possible callout charge.

If you would like to try a different one first we can look into providing you a replacement on a new contract/perhaps a better deal than what you are currently paying if you call our customer options team on 0800 013 2632. Alternatively, if you would like to proceed with an engineer please could you complete the broadband troubleshooter?

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support