cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband hasn't been activated

Lucax97
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-08-2023

Broadband hasn't been activated

I've moved into our new property and had set our internet to be activated on the 25th. I've checked my order progress and the activation was delayed until the 26th but that didn't happen.

My hub says it has no access to internet, unsurprisingly. I desperately need the service up and running as it's needed for my work and the mobile signal here isn't great!

I rang yesterday but was told the proper department was closed and am still waiting for a call now! Any help would be amazing.
10 REPLIES 10
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,428
Thanks: 5,669
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

@Lucax97 Presuming you have a Hub2, what colour is the light?

John
Lucax97
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-08-2023

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

Hi, just orange.
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,428
Thanks: 5,669
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

Solid orange? if so, check the username in the Hub is your account name, and not 'setup'.

John
Lucax97
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-08-2023

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

It does say setup! But I'm not sure how to change this?
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,428
Thanks: 5,669
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

That's your answer then.

Try resetting your Hub - insert a paper clip or similar into the reset hole on the back, hold the switch closed until the light goes green, release, and wait until it goes blue. If that doesn't work, let us know.

John
Lucax97
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-08-2023

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

So I tried changing the broadband username to my actual one. This didn't work so I factory reset the hub and then went through the steps you suggested. But it's still orange unfortunately:/
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,428
Thanks: 5,669
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

Sorry to hear that. My suspicion is that, for some reason, PN have not fully activated your account. You will probably have to wait until Monday (Tuesday? as it's a Bank Holiday) and call them up.

@Dan_the_Van  - any other option?

John
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,757
Thanks: 1,320
Fixes: 83
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

@Lucax97 

If the DSL connection was missing then it would be flashing orange, solid orange suggests a PPPoE logon issue.

Is the broadband username still setup@plusdsl.net? If it is then as has already been suggested the activation might have not completed, did you receive an email to confirm your internet is active?

Need someone from plusnet here

Dan.

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,428
Thanks: 5,669
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

That's what I thought, @Dan_the_Van -  which is why I suggested the OP contacted PN direct - staff support on here is rather random.

John
Lucax97
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎27-08-2023

Re: Broadband hasn't been activated

Cheers all, I just spoke to them again. I think the issue was the activation was meant to be the 25th but I wasn't actually in the house.

So when it was plugged in yesterday, because it's bank holiday weekend and they aren't open, it's just not getting activated. They said they'll be open tommorow, and that even if I don't answer a call from support they should be activating the line anyway Smiley