cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

Daveodeth
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 31-07-2007

Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

Hi
I'm a fibre customer and have seen a massive drop over the last few days, have a ticket open with plusnet as well it's always good to ask around.
speed for the last few days has shown the below


I have used the bt speedtest as well twice so far and it shows roughly the same as below for both
Download speedachieved during the test was - 1.2 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 31.59 Mbps-39.49 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 39.49 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.01Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
Am I missing something my end or does that look wrong? This was by ethernet connect by the way
Edit: also used multiple machines in the house to make sure it wasn't on the fritz but they all came back the same.
12 REPLIES
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

try a gateway hop, i was on a gateway (ptw-ag01) this morning giving me really poor speeds (1-5mb)
Daveodeth
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

Quote from: thesawdust
try a gateway hop, i was on a gateway (ptn-ag01) this morning giving me really poor speeds (1-5mb)

God damn son you hit the mark, much obliged.
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

No Problems, Glad to see it resolved it  Wink
Also, by any chance did you know what gateway you was connected to prior to the hop?  Smiley
Daveodeth
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

Unfortunately not, I do know I am not on ag04 now though and it is back to how it should be.
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

it's ptw-ag01 that's having problems. I've just gateway hopped and was on this gateway and was pulling 172kb/s  Shocked
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,269
Thanks: 577
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

What exchanges are you on?
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

I'm on Lymington, always see a raise in pings during peak hours. Not really a speed issue though, that i'm aware of anyhow  Smiley
ScottJames
Grafter
Posts: 65
Registered: 17-12-2013

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

So how do you go about doing a gateway hop?
Thanks  Smiley
thesawdust
Grafter
Posts: 384
Registered: 28-10-2013

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

login to router click disconnect, wait 60seconds and click connect again  Wink
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

Please let us know if you have any further problems and let us know what gateway you were on wen the problem came to your attention.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 5,269
Thanks: 577
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

I think we've replicated the issue on PTW-AG01.  We're looking at it.
Kelly Dorset
Broadband Service Manager
Daveodeth
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Broadband dropped from 40Mb to 1Mb

Quote from: Kelly
What exchanges are you on?

I am on the nuneaton exchange