cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband and voice issues

JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Broadband and voice issues

Hi, long time PlusNet customer of 2 accounts here.
One of which has been very problematic over the past couple of months. Frequent disconnects and now seems to be running at a snail’s pace of around 200kbits/s up and down with long ping time. Every time I run the diagnostics bot it claims my line is performing well! The voice line has intermittent noise. I previously swapped modem and have fitted a new NTE5c such that all house wiring is already filtered with the modem as the only unfiltered connection.
Is there any other line test that can be run?

Many thanks,

6. Data rate: 444 / 287
7. Maximum data rate: 862 / 3896
8. Noise margin: 16.1 / 13.7
9. Line attenuation: 17.7 / 34.8
10. Signal attenuation: 18.6 / 32.5
25 REPLIES 25
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,850
Thanks: 5,274
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Broadband and voice issues

@JamesRB  Welcome to the forum.

Are you on ADSL or Fibre?

What speed should you be getting? Check by putting your phone number in here:  https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL

When you say diagnostic check, what diagnostics? Are you reporting the problem using the new Text bot here: https://www.plus.net/help/report-a-problem/

When you say that you have fitted a new NTE5c socket, have you checked the performance with the front clip on filter removed and just a plug in filter feeding the hub plugged ib to the rear test socket? I mention this because this type of master socket can be problematic, especially if the back box has been screwed down tight on an uneven serface.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Thanks for the reply Baldrick. It’s a rural line around 1 mile from the exchange so ADSL2+ is I think the only option and is what we have. We’d been getting just shy of 8Mbit/s down and around 1Mbit/s up before the fault.

24. Modulation: G.992.5 Annex A
25. Latency type: Interleaved

The bot I’d used was initiated by sms to +44 7800 008121 and I’d imagine has the same backend as the one you mentioned?

In terms of the NTE5c I’ve tried various things and nothing seems to have affected the symptoms (same as prior to even swapping the socket or modem).

My hunch is a high resistance fault on the line causing the intermodulation between voice and ADSL bands. Especially as it seems to be weather dependent.

Many thanks,
James
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,850
Thanks: 5,274
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Broadband and voice issues

@JamesRB 

Your SNR is very high, which will be the cause of the slow speed. It sounds like this could be caused by intermittent noise on the line as you’re noticing on the phone. This can be difficult to find. When it’s noisy can you try the text bot to see if it can be captured?

Hopefully a Plusnet staffer will pick this post up and reset the DLM to see whether it reverts or send an Engineer out to have a poke around orotund. This might take a while on a bank holiday weekend.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Thanks again,
A few weeks ago when it was losing sync every few minutes the bot claimed my line was performing well! I don’t know what criteria they’re using!! I’m sure it won’t be fixed this weekend but thought I’d better start the process of getting it looked into. Thanks again for your input 👍

Cheers,
James
JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Bump. Is there any chance a plusnet mod can look into this please?

Thanks,
James
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,595
Thanks: 1,086
Fixes: 77
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Plusnet mods are customers like you so unable to look at your issue.

 

Why have you not reported a fault?

JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Okay, wrong terminology. I mean plusnet staffer as mentioned by Baldrick. I’ve seen lots of threads where people get their issues addressed on this forum so I thought it was a valid place to come
Dan_the_Van
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,779
Thanks: 1,334
Fixes: 84
Registered: ‎25-06-2007

Re: Broadband and voice issues

I wouldn't wait for the off chance a member of staff visit, unless the bot's created a fault for you I'd suggest raising one here

https://faults.plus.net 

Dan

Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Broadband and voice issues


@JamesRB wrote:

6. Data rate: 444 / 287
7. Maximum data rate: 862 / 3896

 

Just to add to your problems,  if my memory serves me correctly, an upload "data rate" of 444 on ADSL2 means that your connection is artificially 'capped',  and you should ask a member of staff to uncap your line - and hopefully get your upload closer to that maximum data rate: 862Kbps rate shown underneath !

 

I'm wondering whether 444/287 is actually a banded profile ?,  in which case you need Plusnet staff to resolve it.

 

 


@JamesRB wrote:

My hunch is a high resistance fault on the line causing the intermodulation between voice and ADSL bands

 

Years ago when I had these sorts of problems,  I was able to clear high resistance faults by using a mobile phone to call my landline phone - and let it ring unanswered for a while.  How this works is that when your landline receives a call, the telephone exchange puts a high voltage on the line to cause the telephone 'bell' to ring.  This high voltage sometimes is able to temporarily break down the line corrosion that was causing the high resistance fault.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,850
Thanks: 5,274
Fixes: 421
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Years ago when I had these sorts of problems,  I was able to clear high resistance faults by using a mobile phone to call my landline phone - and let it ring unanswered for a while.  How this works is that when your landline receives a call, the telephone exchange puts a high voltage on the line to cause the telephone 'bell' to ring.  This high voltage sometimes is able to temporarily break down the line corrosion that was causing the high resistance fault

The key word being ‘temporarily’. If there’s a high impedance fault then it needs to be present when Plusnet/Openreach  run their diagnostics, not temporarily hidden.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Hi James,

I'm really sorry to see you're struggling with that kind of speed. 

I've tested your broadband and the tests are showing a possible lead-in issue, which is the wiring from the drop-wire into your property. Your speed is chronically banded to max 288k as a result. 

As part of the broadband test, we run a copper line test but this particular test isn't wanting to run. As you're hearing noise on your phone line, would you be able to ask your phone provider to run a line test? 

Also you should be getting a lot more than 8mbps on a good day, because our suppliers broadband availability checker Here suggests you can get between 12mbps to 16mbps.

In addition, FTTC is available in your area which can offer you a speed of 19.5mbps to 26.8mbps. If you're wanting to upgrade you can do that through your account Here or just call my colleagues on 0800 013 2632. 

Let me know what your phone provider says. When the underlying issue's resolved, we'll need to manually reset your line to remove the chronic banding, as this won't happen automatically. 

Cheers

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Hi Gandalf, thanks so much for the investigation and reply!

I would be very interested to know how the test resolves a “lead-in” issue. Is this using TDR to measure distance to fault from the DSLAM? I suppose it could also measure backwards from the CPE based on the multiple reflections that would be observed.

This is a rural location (farm house), and the cable comes across overhead from a pole at the road to the house, and then around and in to the (new NTE5C) master socket near the front door.

We are intending to have BT check the copper line but had been keen to wait for the noise on the line to become persistent enough to minimise the risk of them claiming no fault found and charging us for the visit. We are expecting that with more rain this will become the case.

Again, thanks so much for your input.

Regards,
James
Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 26,594
Thanks: 10,330
Fixes: 1,602
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Hi James,

A line test won't resolve a lead-in issue, but I'm hoping that through testing your line they'll be able to arrange an engineer. 

Unfortunately as our tests showed a potential copper line issue on an ADSL service, we'd struggle to battle the supplier system to report a broadband fault and arrange an engineer ourselves. 

You thought about moving your phone line to us? We don't (currently) charge call-out fees for faults. I'm saying currently because this could change although I'm not aware of any plans.

Having said that... I've ran another test (for the 4th time) and the copper line test is passing now. Typical, eh? Cheesy

I've put through a request to remove the chronic banding, which should increase your speed within an hour. Although the lead-in wiring problem is still showing so would likely need further investigation otherwise things may drop again. 

As the copper line test has now passed, if you'd like me to arrange an engineer I'll be happy to. Just let me know when you'll be available for a visit. Engineers work 8am to 1pm, or 1pm to 6pm.

Cheers

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role.
Anoush Mortazavi
Plusnet
JamesRB
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎28-08-2022

Re: Broadband and voice issues

Thanks again Gandalf,

I actually meant how does that test physically determine that there is a fault on the “lead-in”? I know it won’t fix it 🤣. Is there any additional or raw data output from that test which could help me narrow it down? I know a few things about TDR etc.

I see you have reset the profile! It’s a bit more zippy now but seems to be dropping pretty often unfortunately.

6. Data rate: 444 / 13919
7. Maximum data rate: 1069 / 13980
8. Noise margin: 22.8 / 6.1
9. Line attenuation: 18.4 / 35.5
10. Signal attenuation: 18.1 / 33.

Intermittent faults are a real pain!

Many thanks,
James