cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Speed

Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Broadband Speed

Hi,
ok i have read the 'got a speed fault?..' bit and ive pretty much done everything it says.
The problem i have is that, supposedly the line into my house carries 2.5mbps (as said by plusnet), but supposedly for some reason my network is actually only on 512kbps. i was told that possible issues were filters, or the router not being plugged in at the main socket.
ive checked all the filters (and used my friends filters in case mine werent working) and that seems to have made no difference. also its at the main socket.
why am i not getting 2.5mbps on my actual networkHuh
also i logged onto my router and it says:
DownStream Connection Speed 1568 kbps
UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
but then i ran a test on 'my broadband speed'
and it came up with
            Date Download Speed    Upload Speed 
Today 16:08 471 kbps (58.9kB/s) 238 kbps (29.8kB/s)
so how come my router is putting a slower speed into the network?
i hoppe that makes sense and it'd be great if someone could help
97 REPLIES
geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Broadband Speed

Have you been upgraded to MAXdsl?
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

not sure what that is?
but i just changed it to VC based - thats what it used to be on-  but for some reason it had changed to LLC and now ime getting 1315 kbps.
one thing thats bugging me is the fact that my line is supposed to be 2.5mbps but ime getting 1.5? is there anything i can do about that ?
geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Broadband Speed

Yeah. Smile and be grateful.
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

haha ok thanx for having a look anyway
i swear it was vc before anyway now it seems to be really good, better than it has been for a matter of months
geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Broadband Speed

It's another thing you'll know to check in the future. Well done on sorting it out. Smiley
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

Smiley thnx, yeah its something ile definitely remember to check straight off now!
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

ok right now i have a problem again
my router says its getting 1920kbps downstream
but when i run mybroadbandspeed test it says ime getting 1200kbps - fair enough ime fine with that
but then when i try and download something it download at 25kbps - whereas the speed suggests that i t should be downloading at around 150kbps
why is that happening?
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

Slow server maybe? where are you downloading from?
geewizz
Grafter
Posts: 1,125
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Broadband Speed

Quote from: Adi

but then when i try and download something it download at 25kbps - whereas the speed suggests that i t should be downloading at around 150kbps


You say it is downloading at 25kbps. Are you sure that's not 25kBps?
B=byte, b=bit
1 byte = 8 bits.
25kBps = 200kbps
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

yes, ime fairly certain because the other day it was going at 170kbps
also is there any way i can get my pc to actually get the 1920kbps that my router is getting rather than 1200 odd?
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Broadband Speed

Adi,
This might be a good read for you.
broadband speed faults how to diagnose
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

Hi,
ok i read through it again in light of my speed picking up a bit
but when i did the speedtester i got this

Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
    IP profile for your line is - 1250 kbps
    DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM)  1536 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
    Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 218 kbps

i still dont understand wat throughput is but shouldnt it be a lot higher than that?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Broadband Speed

Did you switch your router off overnight? I notice that your (download) sync speed is lower again. What does your router give for the SNR?
Another check worth doing, do you have any audible noise/crackling on your phone line? Listen to a quiet line.
rgds.
Adi
Grafter
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎05-05-2008

Re: Broadband Speed

i did reset my router - because my ethernet connected pc was being strange
whenever i reset it, it comes up with a different download sync speed - now its higher its 1632
these are all the stats
Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
WAN PPPoA 712 784 0 800 2947 00:04:01
LAN 10M/100M 254 0 0 163 0 00:06:04
WLAN 11M/54M 1921 2033 0 3506 961 00:05:59

ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
Connection Speed 1632 kbps 448 kbps
Line Attenuation 40.0 db 25.0 db
Noise Margin 9.8 db 21.0 db

just put the phone on handsfree with the dial tone and i cant really hear any crackling. - is that affected by filters?