cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

got2getatan
Grafter
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎14-06-2013

Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

When I was with BT before Plusnet I did not have much of a problem with Skype vision and sound. I assume that the line from the exchange is the same so can it be the low broadband speed that I receive. Have a webcam built into my laptop and I was thinking of purchasing a quality attachment but wondered if the low  speed will still give me problems, if not can you recommend a good webcam. Thanks. 
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-11-2011

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

Hi got2getatan,
Are you having any issues with using Skype on your connection at all? I've checked over your line and everything looks fine.
Please let us know if there is anything further we can help with.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

What sort of speeds do you get?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
got2getatan
Grafter
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎14-06-2013

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

Live out in the country so get below 2mb. Sykpe problems are - picture keeps breaking up and sound gets distorted. If new webcam would solve the issues what would you recommend. Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

What video quality do you have selected in Skype?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
got2getatan
Grafter
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎14-06-2013

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

I should explain  that it is my wife that uses Skype on her laptop, just asked her your question and she does not know. I think she just connects and hopefully everything is ok.  I don't do Skype but if you tell me what to do or check I would be very greatful. Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

If your wife uses the laptop with a wireless connection to the router it would be worth trying a wired connection out to rules out the wireless being the issue.
I haven't a camera myself, but looking through the Skype help pages I found there are various settings for quality - check the video settings of the options. It would be worth trying the lowest quality.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
got2getatan
Grafter
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎14-06-2013

Re: Broadband Speed = Skype quality?

Thanks, will try that.