cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Pro 20gb limit

squirrel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 01-04-2009

Broadband Pro 20gb limit

Dear PN and community,
Every month now i'm finding i'm easily exceeding the 20gb limit. How are you finding only working with 20gb?
Being a Professional package, why is the cap not set to 30gb or 40gb these days? With HD content widely available online, why should so called Pro Customers suffer?
Are there any plans to review this rather small amount of data?
Thanks
11 REPLIES
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

welcome to the Forum again after two years
I have the Value package at just 10G, and if you look at my profile, I am not exactly a mild user.
You can always get the Extra package at 60G, just a few priority changes
squirrel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

I could change to the 60gb package, but i'd rather keep my high priority for gaming.
I fully understand why they have capped the Pro package, but really 30gb would be more suitable.
I shouldn't have to change package because PN can't keep up with times . This is an HD content era.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,388
Thanks: 698
Fixes: 51
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

You don't have to change package. Your existing one allows you to have as much additional peak bandwidth as you need at £5 per 5GB, or do more in off-peak which is not charged.
David
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,100
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

Same as I have posted on other threads on a similar vein, I have still not gone over the basic 20Gb I get with my Pro Premium product. As spraxyt says you can use as much data as you want / physically possible, you just have to pay for it. The only cap on the Pro product is the one that you create or what is physically possible by max in out your connection 24/7.
squirrel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

Correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't off peak midnight to 8am?
I don't use the computer all all during these times. Most of my usage is between 6pm-10 Mon to Fri, 7pm-11pm Sat and maybe on Sun 6pm-10pm.
I'm having to pay for an extra 5-10gb per month.
I don't sit on P2P downloading at all. I don't download film, i hardly download music form iTunes.
It's simple, 20gb just doesn't cut it these days.
pierre_pierre
Grafter
Posts: 19,757
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

what is your reason for being on Pro?, I would have thought that Extra, with 60G would be much better
And yes that is the peak/off peak time
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,638
Thanks: 869
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

I use the internet continually Mon-Fri 9am to around 11pm/midnight and a lot at the weekends.
I'm on PAYG with 15GB allowance. I'm also running the SamKnows monitoring which uses around 2GB of the 15GB.
I've NEVER gone over.
20GB is far more than I (as an intensive user) would ever need.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
squirrel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 01-04-2009

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

Well the reason for going pro is for the low latency.
I've used 12gb so far this month (21 days). About 33% of that is gaming, 15% P2P and 40% web. The p2p is probably the updates for my ACE pack for Arma 2.
This month is probably going to be ok. I'm just saying, this is their "PRO" tariff, which should really in my opinion include more that 20gb.
Billing Period Paid-for usage Free usage Total usage
18 Dec - 18 Jan 34.93GB 279.84MB 35.21GB
18 Nov - 18 Dec 31.68GB 321.81MB 32.01GB
18 Oct - 18 Nov 14.07GB 193.48MB 14.26GB
Y2J
Grafter
Posts: 275
Registered: 05-01-2008

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

I would get pro if it had 30gb usage.
20gb isnt enough for 3 pcs on a network Sad
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,100
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

Its is for me and occasionally 4 computers when I boot up the netbook or have friends staying and they want to use their laptop. Pro used to be 15Gb, then Plusnet upped it to 20Gb. So far I haven't gone over 15Gb and if it was upped to 30Gb their will still be posting that they would want more for the same price. I'm not going to complain if Plusnet decide to increase the the included Gb for the same price, but in reality for me at present I wouldn't be using that extra allowance.
Community Veteran
Posts: 14,469
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Broadband Pro 20gb limit

Quote from: squirrel
Well the reason for going pro is for the low latency.

The package you are on makes no difference to your latency as it relates to your connection and not your allowances.
Known gaming is treated the same on all packages - that is it is unrestricted so Extra will be exactly the same as Pro. The only benefit pro has* is new games will not be restricted when they first come out whereas the other packages have to wait until PN add the necessary detections in their routers to classify it as gaming traffic.
* plus all transfers are at line speed including p2p, streaming and download servers