cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Issue....Help!

Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Broadband Issue....Help!

Good afternoon
I am experiencing a broadband issue in the form of my connection is extremely slow. I have connected my laptop to the router by cable & rebooted the router but this has been to no avail. I have also tested my desktop which is connected direct to the router & the problem exists here too. I have checked the status of my exchange & this looks ok & also run a BT performance test, the results being, Download Speed 0.08, Upload Speed 0.33, Ping 40.25.
I have also changed the filter, plugged the router into a different BT socket & even tried another old router but again to no avail. The problems started yesterday afternoon whilst browsing the internet.
I would appreciate any help you can offer.
Many thanks & kind regards, Steve.
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Please provide the information requested http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Thank you for your prompt reply.
I am using a Buffalo AirStation, does this information help..
DSL Status
DSL Status Up
DSL Modulation Mode G.DMT
DSL Path Mode Interleave
Downstream Rate 4256 kbps
Upstream Rate 448 kbps
Downstream Margin 6.8 db
Upstream Margin 24.0 db
Downstream Line Attenuation 44.0
Upstream Line Attenuation 28.5
Downstream Transmit Power 19.3
Upstream Transmit Power 12.3
Many thanks.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Thjat doesn't show the problem
Can you post the rest of the information requested
Quote
Result of a BT speedtest http://speedtest.btwholesale.com - ignore the preamble and just tick Yes - then select diagnostic after it completes
Current Line Speed from here
and also check your exchange status here http://usertools.plus.net/exchanges/ and advise what it says about WBC on 21CN
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Apologies for the delay in replying...my connection is so painfully slow.
Here are the Speed test results..

1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.
Download  Speed
0.04 Mbps

0 Mbps 4 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 0.04 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 1.2 Mbps-4 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 4.04 Mbps
2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.38 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.45 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.38Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.45 Mbps

This test was not conclusive and further testing is required.This might be useful for your Broadband Service Provider to investigate the fault.
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Colour: Green 20CN VP capacity at this exchange is currently showing as Green.
Click here for further details
Colour: Green BT have advised that this exchange is enabled for WBC on 21CN
Colour: Unknown You can view recent Service Outages for this exchange here
Colour: Unknown BT have published Max DSL upgrade information for this exchange
Click here for further details
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
3.4 Mb
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Well the first thing is that your IP profile doesn't match your sync speed so there must have been a recent resync giving a speed of about 4,590kbps
Second as the IP profile is given as 4.04Mbps you must be on 21CN ADSL2+ but your router is connecting on ADSL1 - can you check the router settings for DSL Modulation Mode
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Thanks for your message.
I have checked the DSL modulation setting & it is showing as MultiMode?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

I suggest raising a speed fault here https://faults.plus.net
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Thank you, I'll do that. Do you think that we are looking at a line fault here?
Many thanks for your help, much appreciated.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

To be honest I have no idea - it may even be a router fault
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Thanks for your help Oldjim, I've raised the issue via your link.
I doubt that it is a router fault & I'm now using a 3Com unit plugged into the test socket & still have the same issue.
I'll let you know how I get on.
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Any idea how quickly these issues are addressed? I work from home & with a current download speed of just 0.04 Mbps, I'm pretty close to losing the plot!  Angry
Joey0027
Grafter
Posts: 63
Thanks: 4
Registered: 17-07-2012

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

I have just checked my monthly usage & I seem to have reached my limit of 10GB so I am guessing this could be the cause. I would normally receive an e-mail when I get close but on this occasion unfortunately I didn't & it didn't cross my mind until now.
Thank you for your help Oldjim & apologies for being a numpty if this turns out to be the case.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Broadband Issue....Help!

Hi, looks like that might well be it, it'll reset on the 24th (Friday) for you though.