cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Broadband Down - Help Please...

sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-09-2007

Broadband Down - Help Please...

Basically, last night - broadband went down. Checked router, still had sync, ran router diagnostics and although I had sync, OAM End to End Segments fail and connection to ISP fails...
Went into the PN portal this morning to run the broadband fault checker, this comes up with my old telephone number (moved approx 2ish months ago) so I cannot use the tool... Checked address details in PN portal which are all correct
PN, can you check this out please and let me know how to proceed?
Many thanks,
29 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

I'd ring CSC if I were you. If you are on a dialup 0845 it'll be costing you. There is an 0808 number available.
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-09-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Thanks for the reply. I dont have any dial in details for PN - I'm posting from work... Looking through the help tickets, there is an area that says the wrong number has been provisioned and talks about a £40 charge and reprovisioning through BT?
How has broadband worked if PN have the incorrect line number?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

    *  Customer Support: 0114 296 5198  |  0845 140 0200
    * Broadband Faults Helpline: 0114 296 5188  |  0845 140 0080
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Sounds like an admin issue, that of course shouldn't cost you anything to fix. I'm surprised Jameseh hasn't posted here yet. I'd get a ticket raised asap, make sure you give all that detail, and post the ticket number back here.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Alright alright, I only started work 7 minutes ago Wink
Sophos9 - The telephone number being wrong is just an admin issues & shouldn't have any reason for your loss of service.  If you could PM me with the correct telephone number, I'll happily update your details and have a look at your line whilst I'm at it.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 27,080
Thanks: 1,792
Fixes: 144
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

10:00 am....tch tch...what time do you call this to be rolling into work Roll eyes

Customer and Forum Moderator. Windows 10 Firefox 62.0.3 (64-bit)

sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-09-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Thanks for the replies, ticket submitted.... I've checked local exchange, no faults, rebooted router, ran diagnostics etc etc. I would guess that the phone number problem is a local PN problem not a BT provisioning issue (otherwise BB could not have been activated on the line)
Well needed to bid on a new camera lens ending last night too Sad
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

10am.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Sophos - If broadband had been working previously after your house move, it's extremely unlikely that your loss of service is anything to do with us.
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-09-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Hi James,
Yep - when I logically thought about it, it makes sense its a local issues as BT could not have provided!
So what does it mean when you have sync but no OAM segment connection and all ISP details fail?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Beg pardon James, forgot your were on call.
Glad you asked that sophos9, it probably means James will have to work hard only 17 minutes after starting work Roll eyes Ticket number might make it a bit easier for him.
sophos9
Grafter
Posts: 760
Registered: ‎12-09-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Quote from: Anotherone
Glad you asked that sophos9, it probably means James will have to work hard only 17 minutes after starting work Roll eyes

... and thats what makes him different to the rest Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

Quote from: Strat
10:00 am....tch tch...what time do you call this to be rolling into work Roll eyes
To be fair  Grin Grin
Quote
Reply #10 on 08/01/2009, 23:00 »
AFAIK it's the same company.
Kind regards, James Bailey
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,72618.msg574629.html#msg574629
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Broadband Down - Help Please...

James does work hard, I'm sure he'll sort it for you, (I'm typing quicker than you at the moment Jim!)